Tomato lust

Baby BrandywinesOne of these days, there’s going to be a big party in Tomato Alley. More and more tomatoes are appearing every day, morphing from little yellow blossoms (oh, the purty little yellow blossoms) into ever-fattening green globes of goodness.

There are a lot of things I like in this world, and even a number of things that I love. But I’m going to stand before God and man and tell you that I lust after tomatoes. Fresh, homegrown, summer tomatoes.

And the anticipation is building.

See that picture up there? Those little, baby, pale tomatoes are my first Brandywines, beginning their long, slow trip to full fruition. Meanwhile, I’m beginning my long, slow list of how I’m going to devour them.

Oh, yes. It’s going to be a hot, hot August of tomato-eating. And, from the looks of it, I’m going to be eating tomatoes before my birthday this year. Can’t think of a better way to celebrate.

7 Responses to “Tomato lust”


  1. 1 Cheryl June 20, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Mine only have yellow flowers but each one says “potential”! I feel the same way about my tomatoes and ‘love’ is exactly the right word.

  2. 2 Gardenmomma June 20, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Yummm! If go gotta sweat, you might as well be eating a tomato while you do it! Have fun!

  3. 3 Michelle June 21, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Beautiful, you can never have too many tomatoes on the way. I didn’t plant any brandywines this year, you’ll have to give us the lowdown on flavor and all the other tomato stats.

  4. 4 Kalyn June 21, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Oh, I am so jealous. I don’t have any brandywines on my plants yet. (runs outside to check) Nope, not a single one.

  5. 5 Me June 21, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    BLT’s, Taco Salad, and Fresh Mozzarella and Tomato Salad are three of my favorite ways! :)

  6. 6 cremarie June 22, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Our seed saver plants are looking pretty similar at this point! Mine had a slow start, but are catching up quickly!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener June 26, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Cheryl, I love all those yellow flowers…especially the high-up ones that might turn into tomatoes that won’t get eaten by rodents…

    Gardenmomma, that’s so true. Fresh garden tomatoes are like a cool breeze on a summer’s day.

    Wait. That was way too damn sappy. Fresh garden tomatoes just simply rule.

    Michelle, I’m hoping everyone gets ripe at the same point at some point in the process so I can do a true taste test.

    Kalyn, you’ll have some soon, for sure. Can’t wait to hear your Brandywine tales this summer!

    Me, all three of those are great ways to use tomatoes. BLTs are my very favorite, but tomato-basil-mozz salad also ranks very high up there.

    Cremarie, I have been so psyched about the SeedSaver plants. I’m definitely ordering more next year.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!