Green Thumb Sunday: Dad’s rose

Dad’s rose

This is one of the roses from my parents’ garden, and I took the photo two weeks ago when I was visiting them. Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

13 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Dad’s rose”


  1. 1 ruth June 17, 2007 at 10:44 am

    What a beautiful rose and such an apt choice for today. Happy GTS

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 17, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Ruth, thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. 3 Sean June 17, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Hey,
    Cool blog. Visit mine at http://techappy.blogspot.com/ and if you like it, please link to me, and I will do the same for you!

    Thanks,

    Sean

  4. 4 Sara June 17, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    A beautiful rose and very apt for father’s day.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  5. 5 jean June 17, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    what a lovely picture. I love seeing water on the blooms. Great color!

  6. 6 chigiy June 17, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Lovely rose.
    I really like the color and the composition.

  7. 7 growthumbs June 17, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    very nice rose! I like the way the photo was taken

  8. 8 MrBrownThumb June 17, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Nice rose and photo.

    Happy GTS

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener June 17, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Sean, thanks so much for visiting!

    Sara, I almost posted this photo last week and then realized it was much more appropriate for this week, definitely.

    Jean, I’m a big fan of the water droplet effect, too. I’m always happy when I can capture that.

    Chigiy, thank you for the compliment!

    Growthumbs, it was a lovely rose in person — I really wanted to do it justice with the photo.

    Mr. Brownthumb, happy GTS to you, too!

  10. 10 Drew June 17, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Very nice rose that you have there.

  11. 11 Lynn Tucker June 17, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    In the back of my mind I have a recollection of a story, last year about Dad’s rose. If you wrote about this last year. – I still have recollections of it, so the memory now is omnipotent!

  12. 12 Gardenmomma June 18, 2007 at 12:33 am

    The rose is just beautiful! And thanks for the wonderful garden refreshment recipes. They sound wonderful.

  13. 13 inadvertentgardener June 18, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Drew, thanks so much for visiting!

    Lynn, I can’t remember if I posted a story about Dad’s rose or not, but I know I took plenty of photos of his roses last year, too.

    Gardenmomma, thank you, and enjoy those coolers!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!