Bad browellia

Of the flowers I bought or planted this year, I do have some success stories. There are many signs of life around the garden with various narcissus…there were seeds everywhere, and many of them seem to have decided to flourish. The Gypsy Rose keeps Bad browelliaputting out lovely, small blooms, as does the White Bacoba. But the Browellia has not kept up its end of the bargain. There are some flowers, sure, but there has been the incident with the squirrel or other pestilent creature, and there have been other wilting incidents.

The one I tried to use in my failed Tipsy Pots experiment is still straight-up and blooming, but it is sporting this weird black-and-purple nastiness on its leaves that I cannot figure out. How can it already be diseased, when I just planted it a month ago?

After a fruitless search on the Internet, I have to turn to you, faithful commenters. Any ideas? Should I give up on the Browellia and move on to another type of flower?

6 Responses to “Bad browellia”


  1. 1 Lydia June 15, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Wish I could help, Genie, but I am definitely a “cut your losses” gardener. Usually when something goes bad, I first cut it down, and then give it a week to show signs of life. (yes, this is definitely “tough love” for plants!) If no sign of anything after a week, out it comes. Perhaps along with compost, I need to mix a dose of patience into my garden!

  2. 2 steven June 15, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I’m ruthless with flowers, mostly because they’re never going to end up on a plate so why put any energy into them. Perform or be composted!

  3. 3 Carol June 15, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    I’m not sure I can help with the browallia problem… my first thought was that maybe it is getting too much sun? I think it prefers light shade.

    I did wonder this evening as I watered the container grown plants (mostly flowers) which are only here for a season, why I wasn’t spending time watering the perennials and trees and shrubs which are crying out for a nice drink. It is quite dry here, and hot, and they’ve asked us to stop watering lawns for awhile because the water company can’t keep up. Everything just smells dry!

  4. 4 Jenny June 16, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Okay, you’re going to find this as shocking as I do (maybe more so), but I’m going to give you some gardening advice to use if you decide to start more flowers from seeds. Reilly went to a camp last week and they planted moonflower seeds and zinnia seeds in little starter pots. The teacher put the pots in ziplock bags. I left the dirty pots in the bags (b/c I didn’t want dirt everywhere) and put them in the kitchen window to get some sun. The bags have created a greenhouse effect for the plants and you WOULD NOT BELIEVE the size of these seedlings. The moonflower is so big that the 3, yes, count ’em, leaves are hitting the zipper of the bag. I’m going to have to take them out of the bags b/c they have literally run out of room. Who knew that my selfish desire to keep potting soil from getting all over the house would turn into a seedling bonanza!

  5. 5 kate June 17, 2007 at 12:20 am

    hmmmm…. not sure what is happening with the Browellia. I have had mixed results growing it. Some years, it grows wonderfully and blooms for ages, while in others, it has been a big failure. I could never figure out why. Not that this helps … but just wanted to pass on my experience.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener June 17, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Lydia, a dose of patience? What? Never!

    Steven, that’s a very, very good point. If it can’t be pretty, it has to go. Not much else use for it…other than that whole pollinating thing.

    Carol, that’s helpful — I didn’t even think of that. It’s possible the sun’s just frying the leaves. Maybe I’ll move the one that’s potted — can’t do anything about the ones in the garden, but the pot could be sheltered from the sun a little more.

    Jenny, I think I’ve heard of that working — it’s a great idea! I’ll definitely try that in the future. Maybe next year I’ll (gasp) actually get into seed starting. Can you imagine? ;-)

    Kate, good to know I’m not the only one having mixed results. It’s a really pretty flower, but has been kind of frustrating this year!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!