A little learning, farm-style

It’s not like I’ve never visited a farm before, but I definitely learned some new things on Sunday’s Acoustic Farms visit. Here are the highlights:

  1. Always doublecheck to be sure the camera is packed. There are kittens and chickens and pigs to photograph. Not to mention farm-like plants.
  2. Whereas other seeds look like seeds, asparagus goes in the ground in these long, tentacle-like sets that look way more like someone cut the legs off a brown squid than anything else.
  3. Peanut seeds, on the other hand, look like peanuts.
  4. If you plant tomato seedlings lying on their sides rather than vertically, and then cover the seedlings up until just five or six leaves are peeking out, your seedlings will form much deeper, stronger roots.
  5. When you look at a group of piglets and tell them they look tasty, they cower in the corner. (OK, to be fair, they were cowering in the corner already…)
  6. Llamas have fangs. Don’t get into a fight with one if you can help it.
  7. Farmers do, in fact, make hay while the sun shines. And, for that reason, the air-conditioned cab on the baler is perfect for helping prevent skin cancer.
  8. Clover is at its most nutritious when it has flowered. That’s when Farmer Mark knows to cut it and bale it up.
  9. Left to my own devices, I’ll only eat two plates of sausage gravy and biscuits.
  10. I am in the coolest CSA in America. No question about it.
10 Responses to “A little learning, farm-style”


  1. 1 steven June 12, 2007 at 8:00 am

    1) Peanuts! I wish I could grow peanuts, I’m crazy for boiled peanuts. Try finding them in Pennsylvania.

    2)Telling piglets they look delicious is technically playing with your food.

    3)Llamas spit too. I’m not much of a llama fan.

    4) How is it you get sausage gravy and biscuits? Every farm I’ve been to lately (well just the one) has hot dogs and cake from Sam’s Club. Last July 4th at my cousin’s farm every last bit of food was store bought.Shocking.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 12, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Steven,

    1. You know, I’ve never had boiled peanuts. If the experiment at Acoustic Farms works, I might just have to try them!

    2. The piglets knew I was kidding…sort of…

    3. I’m planning not to get close enough to find this out for myself…

    4. See number 10 on the list above. THAT’S how you get sausage gravy and biscuits instead of store-bought food…

  3. 3 the mint killer June 12, 2007 at 10:41 am

    not only do llamas spit and have fangs, just their mere presence seems to be an effective coyote deterrant. who knew a dromedary could out fox a coyote!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener June 12, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Mint Killer, it’s crazy stuff. Just crazy. Who needs guard dogs anymore…so passe!

  5. 5 Katiez June 12, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Thanks for the tomato tip. Since all of my 3′ high tomato plants turned toes up and died over the weekend I have to replant. The ones that I got from the nursery are very tall and skinny. I’ll try this…and if it doens’t work – I know where your blog lives…

  6. 6 bright June 13, 2007 at 2:03 am

    biscuits and gravy? farm fresh biscuits and gravy? oh you’re killing me… now that we’ve moved to northern california i’ve yet to see it on a menu. i make a purty good biscuit, but i just don’t have it in me to make gravy too in the morning.

  7. 7 Michelle June 13, 2007 at 8:06 am

    “Always doublecheck to be sure the camera is packed. There are kittens and chickens and pigs to photograph. Not to mention farm-like plants.”

    Glad to see you’ve finally gotten your priorities in order. And you still owe us a kitten, a chicken and a pig photo. Don’t make me sic big pumpkin on you!

  8. 8 steven June 13, 2007 at 11:04 am

    About the boiled peanuts, it’s a Southern thing you know and I’m convinced that the best ones are to be found on the back roads of Georgia, ladled out of incredibly old kettles with a rusty coffee can nailed to a strip of wood.(said kettles are usually on someone’s front lawn with a hand-lettered sign with various misspellings) It seems the filthier the kettle and the more concrete animals on the lawn, the better the peanuts.

    My favorite peanuts are found on a back road to Madison GA. An older gent keeps a produce stand by the roadside and has the requisite dirty kettle, etc. His drawl is so thick I can barely make out what he’s saying and the rest of the trip is a balancing act of steering, opening peanuts and keeping a boiling hot styrofoam cup from spilling into my lap.

  9. 9 kate June 13, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Sausage gravy and biscuits sounds great … thank you for the tomato tip. I still have several tomatoes to plant out, so I will try tipping them on their sides. I’ll be looking forward to seeing pictures the next time!!

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener June 13, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Katiez, you do know where my blog lives…and I’m hoping your tomatoes rock on with my passed-along advice. If they don’t, remember…I’m just passing on information from Real Live Farmers! What do I know? Not much…

    Bright, they don’t have it on the menu in NorCal? That’s so sad…there’s nothing more satisfying on a Sunday morning…

    Michelle, you’ve schooled me. Don’t sic the pumpkin leaves (or that flower…sheesh…) on me!

    Steven, I do know it’s a Southern thing, and they sound really great. I love back-road food. OK, really, I love all food. But that is another matter.

    Kate, please give it a try — I hope it works for you! I’ll take pics the next time I’m out there and let you guys see how the tomato plants turned out.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!