Green Thumb Sunday: Crowd o’ basil

Crowd o’ basil

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

11 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Crowd o’ basil”


  1. 1 Ruth May 27, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Nice healthy seedlings. Makes me think of Pesto Sauce.

  2. 2 Crafty Gardener May 27, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Ah-h-h basil … lovely fragrance, lovely to grow and use. Yours looks like it is doing really well.

  3. 3 Acey May 27, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Now that’s enviable. Can’t wait to see the mature plants!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener May 27, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Ruth, it makes me think of pesto, and ensalata caprese, and basil-wrapped scallop skewers, and…and…and… I cannot wait for these bad boys to be all grown up.

    Crafty Gardener, I love basil’s fragrance, especially when it’s first picked.

    Acey, I can’t wait, either. I’m going to have to thin them out before they get mature, but then I’ll be able to use the baby leaves in something!

  5. 5 Katiez May 27, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    Lovely basil!
    I like to try new kinds and last year I planted one called (I think) Blue Spice. Strangely enough it had such an unappealing scent that not only could I not bring myself to taste it I couldn’t eaven stand to work around it.
    This year I’m sticking to the Genoa, Purple and Lemon!

  6. 6 Lydia May 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Just planted my basil today, and ate the last of the pesto from last summer that’s been hiding in my freezer. Oh boy, I love basil season!

  7. 7 Christina May 27, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    I can smell it. Oh, lovely!

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener May 27, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Katiez, I’ve thought about planting lemon basil, but didn’t get to it this year. Genoa’s always my standard, of course (Well, OK, by always I mean this year and last year…), but I’ve not heard of the Blue Spice variety. Sounds nasty!

    Lydia, I need to make and freeze pesto this year — I don’t know why I didn’t do that last year. Silly me…

    Christina, it really does smell fabulous.

  9. 9 kate May 27, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Your basil plants look so healthy. I bet you’ll be busily cooking with it soon. Pesto – yum!

  10. 10 Sally May 28, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Yum, I can almost smell it looking at that photo

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener May 28, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Kate, I can’t wait to actually use them.

    Sally, even at baby stage, they already smell pretty darn good…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!