Best. Homecoming. Present. Ever.

A few days before I left for California, two of my coworkers had occasion to be at my house and, therefore, in the garden. Before I had even noticed it, one of them pointed this out to me:

First tomato blossom of 2007

Tomato blossom. In place. Just days after planting.

And then, this morning, when I went out to water for the first time since I got back, I saw this:

First tomato of 2007

This might be — MIGHT BE — better than the ocean. Might be.

12 Responses to “Best. Homecoming. Present. Ever.”


  1. 1 Lydia May 24, 2007 at 7:42 am

    That is some impatient tomato! I’ve just gotten my annual herbs in the ground, and you have a tomato plant bearing fruit already. Wow!

  2. 2 steven May 24, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Oh no fair. I don’t even have a frickin’ radish yet.

  3. 3 Briana May 24, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Was it hard to leave your plants in someone else’s care while you were gone when they had just started blooming?

    I have to go away for a week for business in July and all I keep thinking is – not a good time to travel, tomatoes will be fruiting.

  4. 4 Marc @ GardenDesk May 24, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Your reaction is the same as mine when it comes to tomato blossoms – Halleluiah!! Many of my tomato starts are doing poorly, but I do have fruit on my extra early tomatoes!

    Once again, Halleluiah!!

  5. 5 Katiez May 24, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Ahhh, it’s a site that warms the heart! An actual, real, flavorful tomato is just around the corner. Cherish it!

  6. 6 Carol May 24, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    That IS better than the ocean! At least it will taste better than the ocean…

  7. 7 Michelle May 24, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Bravo!!! I was so darn excited for you just for the blossom! LOL!

  8. 8 Captain Lifecruiser May 25, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Oh… I can smell it. Tomatoplants and their flowers have that strong smell. I like it, some don’t :-)

    So, you’re having much better weather than we have with tother words. The season has just started out with a bit chilly spring here….

    (BTW: I emailed you about the comment problems again).

  9. 9 Sally May 25, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Wow! That is an early producer! Lucky girl.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener May 25, 2007 at 8:11 am

    Lydia, I’m as surprised as you were!

    Steven, no radishes? You ought to at least have those, eh?

    Briana, I definitely checked in to find out status while I was gone…it was hard, but it would be even harder in July!

    Marc, your tomatoes are pretty amazing already — I’m so excited for you!

    Katiez, I’m definitely cherishing it. Can’t wait to cherish it right into my mouth.

    Carol, I kind of like how the ocean tastes, but you’re right…it’s definitely not better than a sun-ripened tomato.

    Michelle, when I saw that first blossom, I kind of figured it would just fall off or something. I was so excited to see the actual fruit!

    Captain Lifecruiser, I love that smell, too. I’m sending you warm-weather thoughts so your tomatoes will kick into gear.

    Sally, I do feel lucky, for sure. It’s exciting!


  1. 1 » Just when you stop watching . . . Trackback on May 25, 2007 at 7:21 am
  2. 2 Put a stake in it « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on June 6, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!