Green Thumb Sunday: Pair o’ peas

Pair o’ peas

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

12 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Pair o’ peas”


  1. 1 Carol May 20, 2007 at 8:52 am

    I love to see little seedlings come up, and so do the rabbits. Watch out or they’ll eat those for dinner.

  2. 2 Ruth May 20, 2007 at 10:09 am

    It’s so thrilling to see those shoots have pushed through and that you can start dreaming of fresh peas.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener May 20, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Carol, I’ve already lost at least one to some animal. But it only broke it off and left the top of the seedling in the garden…go figure!

    Ruth, I’m definitely dreaming of fresh peas. Even if they take forever to shell. :-)

  4. 4 Sara May 20, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Hi Genie,
    Your peas are doing much better than mine. I never seem to have much luck with this vegetable, although the sweet pea is a different matter and I now have a few plants grown from the seeds I saved last year.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener May 20, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Sara, I’m hoping they continue to do well — I don’t think I’ve ever had fresh-from-the-garden peas (I think I would remember, from what I hear of how good they are!), and I’m dying to try them.

  6. 6 kate May 20, 2007 at 11:31 am

    This is an adorable picture! I hope that the peas continue to grow and provide a good crop of peas. Yum …

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener May 20, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Kate, I hope so, too. I’ll keep everyone posted!

  8. 8 Katie May 20, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    How cute! I didn’t make room for peas this year, I forgot…and there’s only so much I want to hoe. If you’re interested I talked about a minimum (by my needs) ‘Square Foot’ herb garden on my blog today. It was rainy so I couldn’t actually get out and plant the veg….

  9. 9 chigiy May 20, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I hope your pair of peas give you many fresh tasty peas.
    I don’t worry about rabbits in my yard. I worry about gophers.
    Right now there is a labyrinth under my veggie garden.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener May 20, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Katie, I have not yet hoed anything, actually…probably should at some point. Just mostly poked around with a shovel. Thanks for the Square Foot report tip — I’ll definitely come check that out!

    Chigiy, I’m hoping for tasty peas, too. And I hope your gophers don’t take out your garden…or start pulling the plants down by the roots. Not fair, not fair!

  11. 11 Tyra i Vaxholm May 23, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    Nice peas…. What the world needs now is Peas, love and understanding! Love your blog! Tyra.
    ps. Today we celebrate Carl von Linné, our Flower Power king.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener May 23, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Tyra, yes…world peas…it would be a good thing. Thank you for stopping by, and happy Carl von Linne Day!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!