A paw-shaped divot

Paw-shaped divotIt’s as if the rabbits or squirrels or whoever knew I would be setting up shop again this year. Already, without any warning, they’re up in my grill.

Or, at least, in my pots.

I came out one recent night and looked down at the pot where I’d planted chive seeds. Now, I like chives, but apparently, so does whatever varmint decided to take the paw-shaped divot out of my potting soil. The same thing happened in both basil pots, the thyme and the sage.

It seems awfully early for war. I planted a lot of extra stuff this year just for that contingency: some for the critters, some for me. But still…the little rodents? They hurt my plants, they hurt me.

11 Responses to “A paw-shaped divot”


  1. 1 Carol May 16, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    I battle rabbits every year. I used cayenne pepper on my lettuce and peas, and that seems to have worked to keep them from eating them. Or it could be that the neighbor’s cat has been hanging around stalking them. Perhaps they’ve moved? I should be so lucky! Good luck, if you come up with any sure-fire ways to beat the rabbits, let us all know!

  2. 2 Jenny May 16, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    To quote a famous Fudd, “Kill da wabbit, kill da wabbit…” I know you won’t really, but you can at least hope that they somehow disappear from your yard/garden.

  3. 3 Ottawa Gardener May 16, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Sounds like squirrels… my little buddies…

  4. 4 Ottawa Gardener May 16, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Perhaps you didn’t get my sarcasm… Imagine me and the squirrel in an embrace and the squirrel looking nervous. I with a trowel clenched in my hand.

  5. 5 Jenny May 17, 2007 at 7:39 am

    That’s been happening a lot with my mint. I suspect the cats. But I haven’t been worrying about it because it’s mint, so pretty much nothing is going to kill it. And everything inside my rabbit fence has been safe from non-bug predation so far. Maybe you could put netting or something similar over your pots?

  6. 6 steven May 17, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Reminds me of last year when a mouse got into the sun room and ate all the seeds and small plants I had in flats. Is it wrong that I enjoyed hearing the trap go off?

  7. 7 the mint killer May 17, 2007 at 10:19 am

    i just had posse of chipmunks and squerrils rip giant holes in my screened in porch to party on bird seed. and i mean GIANT. you would think they were building highways…

    and jenny, there are many ways to kill mint…. i can give you some tips if you want…

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener May 17, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Carol, I need to break out the cayenne. I’m afraid the rodents are going to eat up all my pea plants. I think some sort of fencing might be in order…but that feels like too much of a commitment.

    Jenny, you never know when I might just get in touch with my inner Fudd. Never underestimate that! :-)

    Ottawa Gardener, I was wondering if it might be the squirrels. I’ve seen more back there this year than last year. And oh yes, I definitely got your sarcasm! I’m imagining! I’m imagining! :-)

    Jenny, I highly recommend you talk to The Mint Killer if you want to get rid of your mint. But I think you’re right — cats alone will not do it, probably.

    Steven, I probably would have at least winced, but no, I don’t think it’s wrong at all…

    Mint Killer, if you have a squirrel and chipmunk highway into your porch, can you at least charge tolls?

  9. 9 cole May 19, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Dude…OMGosh…that is exactly what my tubs of lettuce looked like. Filthy varmits. My patch I planted for them is doing just fine and has only 2 spots dug up. BUT, they raided my containers first. I think they ate most of my tomato seeds.

    Dumb animals. I would totally share if they had just let them grow.

    Silly rabbits.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener May 19, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Cole, eating the tomato seeds is a capital offense. Just make sure your kids aren’t looking when you carry out the punishment.


  1. 1 Squirrel mafia « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on May 19, 2007 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!