More seeds than space

I’d been anticipating this past weekend all week long. As I said in Sunday’s Green Thumb post, I spent a few days last week in Grand Junction, Colorado, which is not known for having particularly stable weather, but the weather it gets blows through at record speed, bringing sun for ten minutes, then hard rain for another five, then sun again.

But steady rain fell on Iowa City when I arrived home on Wednesday afternoon, and the only sign of a let-up was in the forecast: sun and warm temperatures starting on Saturday, for sure. Finally…it was time to garden.

After Steve and I finished brunch on Saturday, I put on sunscreen and pulled out all the packets of seeds I’d been buying. All the 2007 seedsSuddenly it was clear…I had far more seeds than I had room to plant.

“Where are we going to plant all of these?” I asked, spreading the packets across our kitchen table. “They’re never going to fit out there.”

Steve shook his head and started washing the brunch dishes. “That one’s all you,” he said. “I might have encouraged the bulb buying, but you’re the one who couldn’t stop buying seeds.”

9 Responses to “More seeds than space”


  1. 1 Lydia May 1, 2007 at 8:05 am

    So, of course, you will make gifts of seeds to your friends — as we all do, when we find that we couldn’t resist buying all those packets of beautiful seeds! Let gardening season begin!!!

  2. 2 Marc @ GardenDesk May 1, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Have too many seeds, huh? Good for you! I always say that you are not a true gardener unless you have a drawer or bin full of seeds that you didn’t have room to plant.

    Of course maybe I say that to hide my true seed buying addiction.

  3. 3 steven May 1, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Welcome to the “I Have A Box Full of Seeds” club. It will only get worse, trust me.

  4. 4 Carol May 1, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Yes, welcome to the club. I don’t know too many gardeners who plant all the seeds they buy each year. You always end up with a packet or two that are “leftover”.

  5. 5 Katie May 2, 2007 at 1:42 am

    I need to start a seed sharing program. I buy packets of zucchini, pumpkin, cucumeber, etc. and only use 6 – 9 seeds out of the pack. (to get 2 or 3 plants) what a waste.
    Better get your spinach in…. I planted mine 10 days ago – 1 full month earlier than ever before. For the first time ever it’s actually growing. I do believe all the books are right – it likes the cold!

  6. 6 Sally May 2, 2007 at 6:51 am

    Genie – realized that some of those seeds you plant now you will harvest early (like the lettuce, spinach and radishes) and you can replant after the harvest. So you really didn’t “over-buy” – you just bought enough for the second planting! :)

    That said (ahem), I just planted lettuce, spinach and beet seeds from packets I found at the bottom of my gardening bag. Not sure they’ll grow, but what the heck!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener May 2, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    Lydia, I like the idea of gifts to friends — that’s a good way to use the seeds. You’ll see soon, though, that that isn’t exactly how I’ve been using them…yikes…

    Marc, it might be to hide the addiction, but I appreciate hearing others are doing the same thing as me!

    Steven, yeah, I’m guessing I’m pretty much doomed.

    Carol, glad to hear it. There’s no way all these seeds are going to fit in my garden…

    Katie, I like the idea of a seed sharing program. Also, thanks for the spinach info — I just put it in over last weekend, but I’m hoping for at least a little success. We’ll see.

    Sally, I did figure that the spinach and lettuce would be done about the time I’m ready to plant some cucumbers and other things — hopefully I’ve managed something right with the timing?

  8. 8 CG May 3, 2007 at 5:31 am

    I can never resist buying seeds but I’ve not really got into bulbs yet :)

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener May 3, 2007 at 10:08 am

    CG, this is my first foray into bulb land, so we’ll see how it goes…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!