Green Thumb Sunday: Lone tulip in the yard

Lone tulip

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

10 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Lone tulip in the yard”


  1. 1 chigiy April 22, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    You and Carol from May Dreams Gardens have a thing going on with red tulips:)

  2. 2 Katie April 22, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Poor lonely tulip!
    I had pink, white and deep purple….no red

  3. 3 Jenny April 22, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Is that a tulip? I have some of those in my front yard (we bought the house last summer) and I thought they couldn’t be tulips because they opened so wide. Shows what I know.

  4. 4 Ruth April 23, 2007 at 2:02 am

    Such a lonely tulip….ahhhhh

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener April 23, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Chigiy, red tulips are some of my favorites, for sure. Great flower, great color!

    Katie, that being said, I like the pink, white and purple ones, too. Tulips are definitely one of my favorite flowers.

    Jenny, I assume this one’s petals were tighter when it first bloomed. Did the ones in your yard open wide to begin with? Or just as they got older?

    Ruth, thanks for stopping by!

  6. 6 Jenny April 23, 2007 at 11:25 am

    The flowers in my yard had long tightly-held-together petals for a while–it was during the cold snap, so I couldn’t tell whether it was their natural state or not. But I’ve just gone and looked and there are plenty of pictures of wide-open tulips on the Web. :)

  7. 7 Sally April 24, 2007 at 6:46 am

    That looks my poor tulips. Where wide swaths of spring flowers should stand, there is nothing but sagging, yellowed, bent foliage. Ugh! Except my neighbor – who covered her small patch with sheets during the cold. Oh well – there’s always next year!

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener April 26, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Jenny, yeah, the tightly-together thing only holds for so long. Then gravity takes over. Glad you got some additional confirmation, though…my site? Not necessarily an authoritative source of information…

    Sally, there’s always next year, and there’s always later in the season for other glorious growing things, eh?

  9. 9 skeet April 27, 2007 at 4:15 am

    Only one, yes – but so magnificent it stands without peer. Lovely!

    Visiting very, very late for GTS.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener April 27, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Skeet, thanks for stopping by! I liked this particular tulip — in the light, it looked almost satin.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!