Rabbit resurrection

Last week I was out for a run at dusk when it happened for the first time. Something darted across the sidewalk, darting from the hell strip between the sidewalk and street toward a bush lining a house set back from the road.

Rabbit. First one of the season.

I saw the second outside Danforth Chapel last night. The chapel sits on the Iowa River on the University of Iowa Campus (very near Iowa Avenue, in Iowa City, Iowa…not much creativity is required in the naming convention, apparently…), and Steve was reading from his thesis as he approaches graduation. The rabbit crossed the path from the Iowa Memorial Union to the chapel as I approached, heading for a cluster of bushes along the side of the building

Perhaps a rabbit outside a chapel on Good Friday is good luck in a commercial way. The Easter Bunny warming up for tomorrow’s action, perhaps? But all I could think about was this:

You eat my tomatoes, bunny, you’re going to have to figure out your own resurrection.

5 Responses to “Rabbit resurrection”


  1. 1 Carol April 7, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    I am glad I am not the only one who has trouble with rabbits eating up everything I plant in the vegetable garden! The only rabbit I want to see on Easter is one in my live trap tomorrow morning!

  2. 2 cole April 7, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    We have tons of bunnies and fox in my city neighborhood. We see them all year long. I just bought seeds to plant tomatoes, mesclun, lavender and nastrutiums and fear the little varments will eat everything.

    I think I like the animals more than my plants so we can share.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener April 7, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Carol, I’m totally serious. If any rabbits get designs on my tomatoes, I might just buy a gun. (BB gun, that is…)

    Cole, if the varmints eat everything, I’ll bring my BB gun to your house. I promise.

  4. 4 Jeremy April 8, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    My wife was walking me to EPB the other morning. We usually let our dog (small terrier mix) run free as we walk along the river behind the IMU, by Danforth chapel. . . Anyway, the dog took off after that rabbit the other morning, up by the railroad tracks, over by the construction, and fortunately not into traffic. Didn’t get the rabbit though. . . I think we’ll have to be more careful about letting him run.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener April 8, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Jeremy, great story — and I’m glad your dog was OK and didn’t get into trouble while on the chase! I bet it was the same rabbit, although I know there are a ton of them down there.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!