Lettuce give it a try

When I went to buy the potting soil and new pot for the sunflower seedlings this past weekend, I wandered by a rack of seed packets. Some of them were four for a dollar, and I Mesclun seedsconsidered throwing a bunch in my cart.

I stopped myself. I’m still wary of trying to grow from seed, and don’t really have the stomach for an elaborate seed-starting operation. Even when confronted with a ridiculous bargain, I’d still rather at least go with my plan to buy heirloom seeds instead of run-of-the-mill stuff from the hardware store.

Oh, yes. Barely a year in, and I’m already Ms. Snobby Snobberson about seeds. Go figure.

But I did pull a packet of mesclun off the rack, and, when I bought the sunflower seedling pot, bought a little oblong pot with the thought that I would at least start some salad in our kitchen. Maybe it will grow, maybe it won’t, but I thought I’d take the risk and see what happens.

If anything happens, I’m guessing it will be a teeny-weeny crop of baby lettuce that will make up about half a salad. But it’ll be a good salad. I’ve got a long enough memory to know that.

11 Responses to “Lettuce give it a try”


  1. 1 Marc March 16, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Good for you! I love starting from seed indoors. Isn’t it funny how we gardeners are all so different, yet still oddly similar at the same time? I will be starting almost everything from seed indoors this year – even pumpkin and corn (which are always supposed to be sown outside). I will be writing my details about seed starting soon.

    Good luck with your salad starts. Will you be transplanting it outside, or eating it young from the pot you start it in?

  2. 2 kate March 16, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    … and a good salad it will be! It’s fun growing from seed – so much so that you might find yourself adding a few more seed packets.

    Enjoy!

  3. 3 Natalia March 17, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Woo! I also hate seed starting and transplanting, but I planted spinach and “microgreens mix” today. I figure I’ll have a little snack when I thin the seedlings, and I should get at least a handful of small salads out of the whole pot full.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener March 17, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Matt, I’m going to eat it straight from the pot — I’m just not finding myself to be excited about starting things indoors and then transplanting. But I am looking forward to our little indoor salad!

    Kate, I still have some seeds left of the same mesclun mix — as soon as it’s warm enough, I’m sticking some in the ground outside. I’m looking forward to being able to plant out there instead of in here.

    Natalia, enjoy that pot of salads! You’ll have to let me know how it goes.

  5. 5 Kylee Baumle March 17, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I grew mesclun mix outside last year, and it grew FAST and was so thick. It was yummy and as long as I kept cutting it, it kept growing. It was very proliferant! I’m guessing you’ll have more than half a salad’s worth! Oh, and it’s pretty to look at, too!

  6. 6 Crafty Gardener March 18, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Enjoy that lettuce when it grows. I grow some annuals from seeds … ones that I save myself from previous years. Want to exchange links?

  7. 7 Carol March 18, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Funny how you caught on to heirloom seeds, Ms. Snobby Snobberson, indeed! Good luck with the mesclun. It’s a good seed to start with.

  8. 8 Ottawa Gardener March 19, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Have you tried winter sowing? Very low maintenance.

    Good luck in the seed starting venture, you may find you like it more than you imagined… hwa hwa hwa.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener March 22, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Kylie, I tried to plant it last fall, but wasn’t that successful, unfortunately. But this spring, I’m going to try it outside again.

    Carol, hopefully I don’t kill off all my heirloom seeds…sigh…

    Ottawa Gardener, I haven’t tried winter sowing. Any tips on how to do it?

    Crafty Gardener, I will definitely enjoy that lettuce if it ever gets big enough to eat. Hmm…


  1. 1 Flexible when they're young « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on March 22, 2007 at 7:27 pm
  2. 2 This is not a salad « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on April 3, 2007 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!