Gardening in my sleep

Yesterday morning, as I was getting out of bed, Steve said, “You were pretty funny last night.”

I always have a sinking feeling when anyone says that. College roommates, friends sharing a hotel room, partners…it’s that instant knowledge that whatever you did was so hilarious as to be completely embarrassing, while remaining totally out of your control.

If I’m going to be funny, folks, I want to be funny on purpose.

“I got in bed and you said, ‘We have to get it done!’” Steve said. “I asked you to clarify, and you just kept saying, ‘We have to get it done!’”

He demonstrated how I lay there, in my sleep, banging my hands together in pure frustration. Then he said, “Finally I apologized and asked you what, exactly, we needed to get done.”

“What did I say?” I asked, figuring it would be something related to work. I’m prone to dreaming about my job—my mental to-do list doesn’t take a rest just because I’m asleep.

“You said, ‘We have to repot the plants.’”

“What?”

“That’s right,” Steve said. “You told me we have to repot the plants.”

This does not bode well for the summer.

5 Responses to “Gardening in my sleep”


  1. 1 cole March 10, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Sleep talking is pretty weird…my dear husband use to a lot. One night I came to bed and he sat up on his elbow, eyes closed and said, “Get them. Hurry up!” he said it a couple of times and finally answered my, “Get what honey?” Angrily, he says, “The LAWNCHAIRS. Get them. QUICK.” and fell down to his pillow fast asleep.

    It creeped me out. I wanted to sleep on the couch.

    Poor Steve.
    xx

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener March 10, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Cole, that’s hilarious. When Steve talks in his sleep, it usually just amuses me rather than creeping me out, but generally he’s totally unintelligible. I think he was pretty amused by me, too.

  3. 3 Yolanda Elizabet March 12, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    That was a funny story but don’t be embarrassed, it just means that you are a very dedicated gardener. :-) There are worse things in life!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener March 12, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Yolanda Elizabet, you’re right — definitely there are worse things in life. I had to chuckle about it, myself…


  1. 1 Plant-sitting duty « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on March 12, 2007 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!