News for novices, part two

Click here for part one of this story.

My first hint that “Starting Plants From Seed is Wonderfully Fulfilling” would be of no help was that it came out of Hollister, California. California. Land of fruits and vegetables and the Pacific Ocean and 90210. Granted, Hollister is not Beverly Hills, but the high temperature forecast for today is 67 degrees. Do you know what I would give right about now for a 67 degree day? I would give you my first ripe tomato of the season.

But I don’t live in California. I live in Iowa. So it’s an empty promise, filled with sawdust and ashes and a hard little ball of ice that will. Not. Melt.

But I digress.

Actually, let me digress again. Those of you who live in Hollister, and who should be grateful–eternally grateful–for your weather, should know that I’m really not ripping on the article itself. The information therein is perfectly applicable to you, and wasn’t written for those of us frozen in place here in the middle of the country.

In fact, if the article was bylined, I’d even apologize right here to the author of said article. Without a name, I can only shout my apology out my front door, where it will travel far, because the air is thin and cold. But by far, I mean it will travel across the street. And maybe down to the stoplight at the corner.

Still, imagine my dismay to read that “You can start seed right now outdoors.” No, I cannot. If I took a seed outdoors, it would shrivel up, and then roll itself right back indoors where the rest of the seeds are. Because it’s still far too cold here for outdoor planting.

Also, the article warns me to beware of snails. “Keep the snail bait handy, or plan nightly excursions into the garden to hand pick the critters,” the author says. Let me tell you….around here, there are about as many snails hanging out in the garden as there are seeds.

But there were little bits of wisdom to glean along the way that will work, even if my gardening zone might as well be in Alaska for how unlike Hollister it is. “As the seed germinates and grows, it’s impossible not to become attached to the plant,” the author writes. “When that flower blooms or you bite into that first fruit, a wonderful sense of accomplishment occurs.”

Yeah, no matter what the weather pattern, I’m a big fan of that wonderful sense of accomplishment. And, for the most part, that sense of attachment.

6 Responses to “News for novices, part two”


  1. 1 Chigiy March 9, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    No smais? No snails? Well that’s a plus. They are some of the things I hate most about gardening and I love most things about gardening. I don’t like to kill things either, but there’s just something about the crunch of a snail under my shoe. I form no attatchment, but feel a sense of accomplishment.

  2. 2 Ottawa Gardener March 10, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Yup. Cold. Winter. Ottawa.

    Mind my clipped words, it’s just well too cold to talk. Actually we are to expect a slush producing thaw this week.

    Have you heard of winter sowing? It’s a big of recycling gardening fun.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener March 10, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    Chigiy, well…no snails only because it’s so cold. And actually, now that I think about it, I don’t think I remember seeing any snails out there last year, either. I’m sure some will show up eventually, though.

    Ottawa Gardener, I haven’t heard of winter sowing — what is it? And I hope your thaw comes through this week…we’ve been enjoying one here.

  4. 4 Garden Decor Junkie August 5, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Quite honestly, are you a writer? If so, you have found your career niche. If not, consider becoming a writer because you are funny and informative at the same time. Repeat after me: funny + informative = a good writer. Now take a few minutes for your inflated head to return to normal and go outside and plant some seeds :-)

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener August 6, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Garden Decor Junkie, thanks for your complimentary words! There will be seed planting soon, but not quite yet — I have some cooler-weather greens to put in, but want to give it a little more time in August before I make that happen.


  1. 1 News for novices « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on March 8, 2007 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!