Readable Edible

Winter 2007 coverLast week, I received my copy of the second issue of Edible Iowa River Valley, a terrific magazine that shines a light on the great locally sourced food products available here in Iowa. It is free, and available at a number of locations around the state. The quarterly magazine launched in October 2006, and if you look very closely, you might notice a familiar name on the contributors’ list.

While this magazine is a local resource, it would be a handy thing to have on hand if you were, say, on your way to Iowa for any length of time during the upcoming Presidential campaigns. Politicos, journalists, etc…you all need to eat, right? So you might as well eat the good stuff. There’s contact information on the Edible Iowa River Valley site, so I encourage you to consider subscribing—this would be a terrific resource when the Caucuses roll around in 2008.

In the current issue, I wrote about community-supported agriculture (CSA), programs that allow consumers buy shares in a local farm and, in exchange, receive fresh produce and other products from the farm during the growing season.

If you’re in the Iowa City area and interested in participating in a CSA this year, stop by the Prairie Table on March 24 from 12 to 4 p.m. for the Johnson County CSA Fair. I’ll be there as a volunteer, so if you show up, please say hello.

8 Responses to “Readable Edible”


  1. 1 Matt February 28, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Congrats. I’ve been eagerly waiting for the next issue to come out. Now I’ll have to make my way to the Cabinet Studio and pick one up. Or maybe the Coop the next time I’m in IC.

    It’s a great magazine.

    I’d be happy to assist you if you need any story ideas. There are a ton of great places around the Corridor area that people don’t even know about and getting more word out would be great.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener March 1, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Matt, my understanding is that the Cabinet Studio doesn’t have the new ones yet, but in C.R., you can pick copies up at Blend, The Blue Strawberry, Coffee Emporium (the downtown location — I’m not sure about the Hiawatha location), the Convention and Visitors Bureau Office and the Downtown Cedar Rapids office. Hope that helps!

    And yeah — definitely pass along any story ideas — I’d love to hear them!

  3. 3 Sally March 1, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Eugenia!! What a pretty name! Sounds like a flower. Congratulations on your new job. I’m sure you will find it very fulfilling.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener March 1, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Sally, thanks, and thanks for stopping by! Edible is only a side project for me, but I am enjoying the new job. This is my first week, and so far, so good!

  5. 5 Matt March 5, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    You should check out Kalona Organics (www.kalonaorganics.com). They distribute Farmer’s All Natural Creamery (www.farmersallnaturalcreamery.com) products in the area. We have to make sure to support local dairy farms. There aren’t a lot of them around.

    Their products are available at the Co-op, but also in Hy-Vee’s in the Hy-Vee brand Health Market milk. Their yogurt, cheese, butter and cream are supposed to be coming soon.

    I’ve talked to Kathy (marketing manager) before about doing an interview for Groovy Green (www.groovygreen.com) and she said once the weather gets nicer we can do it. Perhaps you can get in on it too for the next Valley issue.

    That’s one idea to get word out about a local product that a lot of people wouldn’t even know is available.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener March 5, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Matt, those are some terrific tips — thank you for passing them on! I’ll check them out, and I’ve forwarded them to the publisher of Edible.

  7. 7 Dori March 6, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Thanks for the link, I plan for my magazine to come soon also. I’ll have to probably ask for an autograph one day.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener March 6, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Dori, you crack me up! I’m not sure it’s autograph-worthy, but I appreciate the thought. And hey, I’m happy to sign anything you’ve got…except, maybe, checks. It probably wouldn’t be wise for me to sign any checks for you. :-) Enjoy the magazine and let me know what you think!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!