Thyme on my hands

Weekend Herb BloggingThe past two weeks have been hectic, to say the least. On February 1, I gave notice at my job, and when I shut down my computer tomorrow at the end of the day, I’ll walk out the door of my current employment for the last time—at least, the last time as an ID-carrying member of that society.

A different challenge awaits, but in the meantime, I’m racing to the finish, trying to leave things a little better than I found them, closing out as many project tasks as I can and emptying files of my unnecessary notes and telling people I’ll miss them.

I predicted a busy week this week, and asked Steve if he could take over Valentine’s dinner. He agreed with a sly grin, and set about developing a plan.

We’re spend-Valentine’s-in people. I let restaurants roll through one of their craziest nights unimpeded by me and my critical eye, and usually I come up with a menu that I think will dazzle. Fondue one year, pre-dawn double chocolate muffins another.

Herbs with SteveI came home from work last night to the smell of baking brownies, the fixings for risotto out on the counter, swordfish marinating. I sat in the kitchen with a glass of wine while Steve cooked, and the room filled with the smell of oregano and basil as he chopped herbs for the Risotto alle Erbe (Risotto with Fresh Herbs).

“Is it going to be bad if I leave these stems in?” Steve asked, waving a sprig of thyme in my direction.

I walked over to the counter and showed him how to strip the thyme, pulling the leaves back against their tiny stems so they fell to the cutting board. Steve nodded and finished the job easily.

I returned to the kitchen table, and when I lifted my wineglass, caught the scent of thyme on my fingertips. I set down the glass, lifted my fingers to my nose and breathed deeply, anticipating the dinner to come.

It’s not a recipe, folks, but it is my entry for Weekend Herb Blogging, which is hosted this week by The Chocolate Lady at In Mol Araan. Check out the full round-up of posts sometime after Sunday afternoon!

15 Responses to “Thyme on my hands”


  1. 1 Sugar Creek Farm February 15, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Ooo, can’t wait to hear what adventures you’re moving on to next! (And I’m getting around to that 5 Things list, promise!)

  2. 2 Lydia February 15, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Genie, that sounds like the perfect Valentine’s Day celebration. Good luck on your next adventure (we’ll be waiting to hear about it….)!

  3. 3 Marc February 15, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Wow that dinner sounds wonderful! Good luck with the job change thing!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener February 15, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Kelli, no worries — I figured you’d get to it if and when you could!

    Lydia, it was a really wonderful celebration. The risotto was to die for!

    Marc, yes, it was a fantastic dinner. Thanks for the good luck wishes, and thanks for stopping by!

  5. 5 Chigiy February 15, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    Genie, how wonderful to have someone cook for you on Valentine’s Day.
    Thyme is not only one of my favorite herbs to cook with, I use it a lot for landdscaping. There are so many beautiful varieties. Thyme makes a great ground cover.
    Good luck with you job change.

  6. 6 Kalyn February 15, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Good luck in your next adventure, whatever it is. I hope it involves writing of some kind! Sounds like a great Valentine’s day dinner.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener February 15, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Chigiy, I have a family friend who planted thyme between the stepping stones in her garden with the idea that people’s feet would crush them and make a lovely scent as they walked — I love that!

    Kalyn, thanks, and yes, the dinner was fabulous. The new adventure won’t involve a lot of writing, but will be an interesting one. I’ll keep everyone posted, in some fashion…more info soon!

  8. 8 Katie February 17, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Nothing like the scent of fresh herbs on the fingers!
    I actually enjoy weeding my herb garden because of all the wonderful fragrances.
    Good luck in the new endeavor! Can’t wait to hear/read what it is!

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener February 18, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Katie, I’m the same way — fresh herbs are so much fun to work with.

  10. 10 the chocolate lady February 19, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Genie,
    Congratulations on starting this next step in your life. It sounds like you are making an auspicious beginning. As it says in the book of Proverbs (15:17):
    Better a dinner of herbs where love is than a stalled ox and hate therewith.

    I’m not sure what a stalled ox is, but I think we can all agree about the herbs and the love.

  11. 11 Katerina February 19, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Risotto alle Erbe is that a real thing? It certainly sounds good. I LOVE risotto and I haven’t ever had one with thyme. Definitely something to try.

  12. 12 cole February 20, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    This was just lovely. Really.
    xx

  13. 13 inadvertentgardener February 21, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Chocolate Lady, I love that! Yeah…no stalled oxen for me…

    Katerina, it’s a real thing! Maybe I’ll get the recipe and post it at some point.

    Cole, thanks, and thanks for stopping by!

  14. 14 Megan February 23, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Hi Genie – Congrats! I’m glad you are moving on to bigger and better things – you deserve it. You’ll have to fill me in on what you’re up to now! I hope you can take some time to celebrate despite how busy you are! Cheers!

  15. 15 inadvertentgardener February 23, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks, Megan! I appreciate it. I’ve had a little time to celebrate this week, which has been really nice. And we’ll see how it goes…I’ll keep you posted!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!