Green Thumb Sunday: Snow tracks

The Emergency Email Network keeps sending me this little gem of a forecast summary:

ARCTIC AIR WILL REMAIN ACROSS THE REGION THROUGH AT LEAST TUESDAY. AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF COLD WEATHER OF THIS MAGNITUDE HAS NOT BEEN SEEN ACROSS THE REGION FOR SEVERAL YEARS.

In other words, don’t expect any snow to melt any time soon. Maybe I should start participating in White Thumb Sunday, instead.

Snow tracks

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

8 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Snow tracks”


  1. 1 Scott at Real Epicurean February 4, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    I wish we had snow here in England…I’m so dissapointed!

    True, from a gardening point of view it’s nice early news; my chives are showing through the soil, my oregano and marjoram are still usable…

    But I want snow, damnit!

  2. 2 deb February 4, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Makes our little 1/2″ this week look even more pathetic lol!

  3. 3 Katie February 4, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    We had snow last Thursday. Right after I cleaned out the basil beds and found my crocuses blooming. It only lasted for a day and everything kind of hibernated but lived through it.
    My chives are growing, too….but the snow is pretty!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener February 4, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Scott, how much snow do you usually get there? I always think of England as being very damp and cold, but not all that snowy in the winter. I was always disappointed in Germany when I lived there because it didn’t snow nearly as much as I expected.

    Deb, this photo reflects a couple of different rounds of snow — it’s just that we have not gotten above freezing for awhile, so it’s all piling up and not going anywhere!

    Katie, ooh…I’d love to have fresh chives. Congrats on the blooming crocuses…lovely!

  5. 5 cole February 4, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    It looks pretty darn snowy and not too gardeny there. Ick. Snow. Snow. Bad.

    It is freezing here and I think my poor little mini rose is going to die outside.

    maybe not a white thumb, but certainly a frozen one!
    xxx

  6. 6 Sally February 4, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    I know! I’ve never seen anything like it. It should be melting and muddy about now… not below zero! I wish it would go away.

  7. 7 Mom February 8, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    The Inadvertentgardener goes big time! Hooray for you! Next you know, you’ll be doing commentary on NPR. Have a safe trip.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener February 8, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Thanks, Mom! And NPR, if you need to reach me, you are welcome to email me through the site. Ha! :-)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!