Go ahead, make my name badge

There is a long list of things that have happened to me in the past two years that I never imagined. I definitely didn’t dream of them when I was a little girl deciding that I wanted to be a veterinarian-surgeon-opera singer-princess when I grew up. I had pictures in my head. Solid pictures. Pictures that have not quite turned out as I thought they would.

Don’t worry—this is not the set-up pitch for some kind of pity party. The things I never imagined include things like actually playing catch in the outfield of the Field of Dreams (I know it’s a former movie set, people, but leave me and my baseball-related nostalgia issues alone.), eating my own home-grown tomatoes, and signing up to attend a garden conference.

Oh yes, a garden conference.

I can see my Washington D.C. friends spitting out their morning lattes right about now. Isn’t this the girl who used to go out for happy hour and talk everyone into dancing until the bars closed? Didn’t this girl used to sing in a band? Didn’t this girl use her balcony for everything from watching fireworks to illegally grilling food, but never, ever, ever for gardening?

Yes, folks. I’m that girl. And I just sent in a registration form for the Winter Gardening Fair offered by the Iowa State Extension Service at the local community college. On February 24, that’s where you’ll find me, learning about kitchen gardens, compost and attracting those bees I talked about at the beginning of the year.

I think I will need to plan to go dancing that night, martini in hand. It is important not to lose touch with one’s roots.

10 Responses to “Go ahead, make my name badge”


  1. 1 cole January 25, 2007 at 6:57 am

    That sounds so cool….it is amazing where life takes you sometimes.

    Bees are cool. Bees are your friends. (mantra like phrase…)

    xx Cole

  2. 2 Lydia January 25, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    You go, girl! Follow your bliss. (Wish I could think of more cliches here!) Seriously — how great that life has presented you with new interests. Looking forward to sharing whatever pointers you pick up at the fair.

  3. 3 Terry B January 25, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    One of the great things about life is all the unexpected places it takes you if you’re willing to just go with it. Anyone whose life is exactly what they thought it would be is in a serious rut, in my opinion. We’re gearing up to move in the next couple of months, from one apartment to another, as yet unfound. One thing on our wish lists is a tiny plot of yard space or at least a little balcony for some basil and rosemary and, yes, some tomatoes.

  4. 4 Carol January 25, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Wow, you are becoming quite the gardener… and by the way, I can’t believe I missed your post about being a gardener in my round up today on my blog. But, I’ve added it now!

  5. 5 Chigiy January 25, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I don’t know Genie, I think you probably have at least one more night of singing and dancing until dawn in you, maybe with the people you meet at the garden fair?

  6. 6 Sally January 26, 2007 at 6:42 am

    It’ll be fun, and I think you’ll be surprised at how much you can learn at one of those things. Enjoy yourself!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener January 26, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Cole, I’m repeating the mantra! And repeating it…and repeating it…

    Lydia, you’re right — there’s always something new to learn, and some new, exciting twist and turn to take!

    Terry, best of luck as you try to achieve that wish list — it sounds like a worthy list to me! I did learn in my 20s that life according to plan sometimes is not only not worth it, but not as fun as the plan dictated…hmm…

    Carol, thanks for adding me — no worries!

    Chigiy, hey…if there are other dancers in that number, I know just where to take them. :-)

    Sally, I hope I learn a lot. There were certainly a lot of sessions to choose from, many of which I knew I’d be walking into as a complete and total novice…

  8. 8 YesToGardenDecor August 5, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I have been very reflective lately thinking about my life, where I am headed, and about our American society in general. Surprisingly, what helps “ground” me in reality is the sense of peace, joy, and optimism, and yes, hard work that I continuously read about on gardening blogs. In a word, reading gardening blogs is like a therapy session that results in a revelation.

    It seems that the things that I treasure in life are eroding at the societal level. This reality came more clearly into focus after receiving an email message from my best friend entitled “remember when.”

    This special email message discussed how those of us who are fifty or older lived “back in the day” when we were youngsters: we had respect for others as well as for our teachers, the police, and for others in authority; we engaged in healthy, physical, and fun activities; when we went to school there no gangs, drugs, thugs, and crime; and when we were youngsters, we felt safe about life in general. This email brought tears to my eyes as I reflected on the trash and crap I listen to every time I hear the news on the radio or on TV.

    In any event it is sooooooooo refreshing to hear that you have made a major shift in your life and that that you have discovered the “magic of gardening.” It was also neat to hear that you went to a Gardening Fair last February 24th. You probably knew that this was coming from one of your readers: you just have to let us know what happened at the fair! What kernels of gold did you walk away with? What tremendously significant gardening tips can you share with us? Or were you so bored that you went back to your pre-garden existence? Come on—don’t tease us any longer. Spill the beans!

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener August 6, 2007 at 6:34 am

    Yes to Garden Decor, unfortunately the event was snowed/iced out! I didn’t get to go. But I’ll keep my eye open for it for the next year.


  1. 1 It’s your turn to tell the Inadvertent Gardener what to do! « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on January 7, 2008 at 6:42 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!