I killed my Chi Pet

I love Macs. I love them because they’re cool, and because Apple has made it a habit of making well-designed software and beautiful interfaces and intuitive tools. The latest operating system features this thing called Dashboard, which essentially operates as an overlay of your screen, as if someone had dropped a scrim over it with some programs, or widgets, stuck to it.

My Dashboard features some useful things (a widget that shows how much disk space is left on my laptop, for example, and a weather forecaster), and some games (Texas Hold ‘Em and Yahtzee), and some totally useless stuff (a chameleon that pokes out its tongue when you click on it).

Chi Pet, aliveRecently, I went out to Apple’s site to see what fun new Dashboard widgets were available for download, and discovered Chi Pet by Novis Design. You install it, click on the little droplet of water every few days to “feed” it, and the grass on its surface grows and fills in over time.

I installed it, hit the droplet a couple of times, and kept that up for a few days. And then I forgot about Chi Pet. Forgot about Dashboard. Hit an abnormally busy week, which also meant I was never able to sit still enough to write a blog post. Chi Pet, dead

Last night, I opened up the Dashboard, and all my widgets popped up. And there, lying upside down and dead, was my unwatered Chi Pet.

So there it is, folks. I actually killed a computer-based plant by not watering the dang thing. Maybe the cactus and mint killers have nothing on me.

Photo credit: Novis Design

15 Responses to “I killed my Chi Pet”


  1. 1 Carol December 10, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    So sad, cha-cha-cha-chia, good-bye.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener December 11, 2006 at 7:26 am

    I know. . It truly makes me feel unworthy…

  3. 3 the mint killer December 14, 2006 at 8:59 am

    i still have one up on you. i have supervised the demise of both chia pets and even of pet rocks. next time, try harder.

    with regards,

    the mint killer

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener December 14, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    Wow…the demise of the Pet Rock. THAT is a challenge. A true challenge. I must try to rise to it…

    :-)

  5. 5 bebop January 2, 2007 at 5:09 am

    I’ve got the chameleon too, but mine doesn’t poke out its tongue…
    It just opens its mouth! What am I doing wrong?

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener January 2, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Bebop, you know, I just went back and checked, and now I can’t make the chameleon stick its tongue out either…maybe I was imagining things?

  7. 7 Clive October 7, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Sad. Mine is growing fine and healthy, and it talks, sleeps, and can get haircuts! :)

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener October 7, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Clive, excellent — if I would ever freaking water mine, I could make mine get hair cuts, too. But not yet…

  9. 9 meme April 5, 2008 at 11:36 am

    How do you cut its hair? I can’t figure that one out! BTW, How do you kill a pet rock? LOL Good one!

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener April 5, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Meme, if anyone could kill a pet rock, it would be me…

  11. 11 meme April 6, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    LOL That’s funny! :D I figured out how to cut his hair by the way. LOL Thanks! :D

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener April 6, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Glad to hear it, Meme. How’d you do it?

  13. 13 meme April 7, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    After it grew so long it showed the little red and white barber’s thing and it just cut his hair to the right length. xD

  14. 14 irene April 17, 2008 at 2:29 am

    ahahahah that’s funny!
    i have another dash that’s like a tamagochi…well…i forgot to put him to sleep…and after 2 days i found a RIP…he died ’cause he was too tired! poor!!!!

  15. 15 inadvertentgardener April 20, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Meme, one of these days I’ll actually let the thing live long enough to need the scissors. Had no idea that was in store!

    Irene, poor dash…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!