Green Thumb Sunday: Rain-dropped tomato

Rainy tomato

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

7 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Rain-dropped tomato”


  1. 1 cole November 19, 2006 at 8:15 am

    Are you sure you are not really a professional photog? Hmmm.

    Great, delicous picture Genie.
    I LOVE green tomatoes..being from the south and all. I just got this yum chutney at our city farmers market made with green tomatores, raisins and some spices.

    xx

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener November 19, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    I love ’em, too, even though I sort of felt wistful every time I ate a green one before I let it turn ripe. But man…they are yummy. That chutney sounds fabulous!

  3. 3 jenjen November 19, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    What a tasty picture! It just makes me want to eat it! and I dont like green tomatoes-I think,Ive never actually eaten one….

  4. 4 Alice November 19, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    Beautiful photo – your rainencrusted tomato looks like a jewel. Mum used to make delicious green tomato pickles.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener November 19, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Jenjen, it’s really all in the preparation. Eaten raw…blech…but fried up or sauteed, they’re excellent.

    Alice, thank you so much! I was reading about that type of pickle this summer but never tried my hand at it. Maybe next year…we’ll see. I had so many green tomatoes left at the end of the season that I really wish I’d come up with a more comprehensive plan to use them.

  6. 6 Christa November 19, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    Beautiful photo, Genie. But you’re making me really miss tomatoes from the garden! Only…what?… eight more months until the new crop? *sigh*

  7. 7 Colleen November 20, 2006 at 8:00 am

    How pretty! Makes me long for summer, and tomato season, even more.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!