Potted worms

Post-potted wormOne of the major obstacles between me and a cleaned-up garden was the fact that I had no idea what to do with all the dirt in our various pots. The dirt exit strategy wasn’t really in the forefront of my mind when Steve and I tried to break his car during hauling.

But I nutted up and dealt with it all on a recent Saturday afternoon. Steve and I had spent much of the day at the library while I worked on a freelance project, and when we got home, I suggested that perhaps we both take a break from mental work and put some muscle to the matter of cleaning up the back yard.

“That’s a good idea,” Steve said, just before he lay down on the bed.

“Wait,” I said. “You can’t take a nap right now. We have to go clean up the garden.”

“Yes,” he said, yawning. “I’ll be right there.”

“OK,” I said. “I’ll be outside. I’ll see you in a minute.”

So. While Steve napped, I began working my way through the neverending container collection. Suddenly, Steve’s admonition that we just put everything in the ground seemed way smarter than my original plan to plant everything in pots. The problem with putting things in pots is that then you have to get everything out of the pots, after all.

I took the recommendation of Tracy and Alanna, who suggested in their comment that I just add the potting soil to our garden plot. I took them at their word: all that dirt really wouldn’t seem like that much when I got it mixed into the bed. So, once the plants had been removed and discarded, I dragged the pots, one by one, across the yard to the original plot and dumped them over.

What both surprised me and made me do a little happy dance was the proliferation of earthworms I found along the way. I expect to find earthworms in the earth, or even on the sidewalk after a heavy rain, since sidewalks are next to the earth. But I never expected to find so many earthworms in the potting soil. They’re not containerworms, after all.

But I am pleased to report that while I might have essentially just dumped a bunch of used-up dirt into our little garden plot, I also added a number of earthworms to our in-ground collection. Now I’m hoping the little guys stick around until next year and work their magic along the way.

2 Responses to “Potted worms”


  1. 1 Tracy November 9, 2006 at 9:59 am

    Well, that’s very cool. The worms must have crept up through the drainage holes. I’m glad it worked!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener November 10, 2006 at 12:48 am

    Me, too, Tracy — I was surprisingly pleased. I think Amy Stewart’s influence is rubbing off on me…

    :-) Genie


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!