A peck of pepper plant pieces

Pepper plant piecesI know plants are not people. Nor are they pets. And I know our pepper plants have had it for the season.

But that doesn’t change the fact that, as I started cleaning up the garden, it hurt me to pull up the pepper plant that we left in the direct path of juglone.

That plant ended up producing tons of good-sized peppers for us, and it developed a thick stalk that supported its burgeoning leaves. It shouldn’t have survived at all, especially after we decided to leave it where it was rather than procuring another container so we could relocate it across the yard.

But on October 22, when I started cleaning up for the season, it was one of the first plants I had to pull. Recent rains had made the ground soft, so the roots gave way easily. Without further ado, I used our garden shears to clip it up into a bunch of pieces so it would be more easily disposed of.

Poor pepper plant. It doesn’t seem fair that it should have come this far only to end up in a pile of pieces on the ground.

9 Responses to “A peck of pepper plant pieces”


  1. 1 katie November 2, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    So I/m not the only one. I hate to pull anything out of the ground until it’s absolutely dead, dried up, nothing left. I force myself to so I can keep the garden going but I have to resist the urge to re-plant. Plants have souls, too!

  2. 2 Natalia November 2, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    I had a habanero plant in a pot this summer that my boyfriend aparently became quite attached to. He didn’t want me to pull it up, so it is now holding court over our kitchen. It’s right next to the entrance and tries to eat my hair. On a good note, though, a 2nd harvest of peppers is ripening right now. They’re smaller than the ones I got over the summer, but still good.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener November 2, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    Katie, I did exactly the same thing…you should have seen some of my plants and the state they were in before I finally started the clean-up…

    Natalia, a second harvest of habaneros is definitely a good thing. Are you drying some of them, or using them all fresh?

  4. 4 Lydia November 3, 2006 at 8:28 am

    I really love the idea of plants reincarnating in the compost pile over the winter. All but the hardiest herbs have given up the ghost in my garden by now, but they’re heating up nicely in compost and will return to the garden in spring. What’s better than that???

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener November 5, 2006 at 12:52 am

    That’s definitely cool, Lydia. I like the symbiosis of it all.

  6. 6 sher November 5, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    Oh, I hear you!!! I feel the same way. My plants almost become like pets for me! :)

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener November 5, 2006 at 7:27 pm

    Sher, I’m glad I’m not the only one. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. 8 Vip April 21, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Since I was small I’ve always been intrigued at what’s a “peck” of pepper or whatever; how many or how big or small? My parents have never shown me and I’ve never known the answer. I’m serious.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener April 22, 2007 at 10:05 am

    You know, Vip, I never really knew either. I just looked it up, and it’s a dry measure of eight quarts. Now we’ve both learned something! :-)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!