Green Thumb Sunday: Last lavender blossom

 

Last lavender blossom

 

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

18 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Last lavender blossom”


  1. 1 deb October 29, 2006 at 8:48 am

    Sweet picture and a reminder of what will return :)

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2006 at 10:10 am

    Thanks, Deb! I’m already looking forward to next year’s blossoms…

  3. 3 Debbie October 29, 2006 at 10:46 am

    I hope my lavender blooms next year! I love the smell and the beauty of the bloom! Great shot!

  4. 4 Colleen October 29, 2006 at 11:08 am

    I love lavender! It’s even prettier when you get a chance to experience a single flower spike that way. Very pretty, and a welcome sight. It’s cold and windy here this morning.

    Happy Sunday

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2006 at 11:12 am

    Debbie, it really is a beautiful plant, isn’t it? And it’s definitely one of my favorite scents.

    Colleen, happy Sunday to you, too. It’s sunny here, but definitely brisk. Still, some sun is a welcome relief, since October was so grey here!

  6. 6 Mandy October 29, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    How lovely. Unfortunately my lavendar didn’t do too well this year, and I have no idea why that was. Hopefully next year it’ll be better.

    Mandy :=)

  7. 7 guppyman October 29, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    Very cool…. Nice close up too!

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    Mandy, that’s the beauty of gardening…there’s always next year!

    Guppyman, thanks — I appreciate your stopping by!

  9. 9 Janet October 29, 2006 at 7:00 pm

    Ah, the last flowers of autumn! They evoke almost as much emotion as the first flowers of spring, but there is as much melancholy as joy, isn’t there?

  10. 10 dragonden October 29, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    Beautiful. What kind of lavender is that? It’s very different than the kind I grow (I think mine is munstead and augustifolia).

  11. 11 John October 29, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    Nicely done a good shot.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2006 at 10:14 pm

    Janet, definitely a bit of melancholy. But at least there are photos…

    Dragonden, you know…I’m embarrassed to admit that I have no idea.

    John, thank you, and thanks for stopping by!

  13. 13 cole October 29, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Great shot. OH BTW…we had a brown Caroline Mantid and a Green European Mantid on our shed last weekend. I will post a shot we got that is pretty funny. We are just hoping they did not eat each other.
    ps. I think I may get you a hissing cockroach for xmas. ha.
    xx

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    Cole, that’s sweet! I hope they didn’t eat each other…that would be extremely problematic. Natural, but problematic.

    :-)

  15. 15 Julie October 30, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    What a beautiful photo!

    If you’re ready to harvest you might want to try this and savor your crop all winter long.

    http://www.humanflowerproject.com/index.php/weblog/to_sleep_like_a_king_lavenderly/

    With good wishes,
    J.

  16. 16 roy October 30, 2006 at 9:31 pm

    Thats an amazing lavender blossom, I don’t think I’ve seen anything with such a deep colour, almost irridescent.

  17. 17 inadvertentgardener October 31, 2006 at 7:28 am

    Julie, that is an incredible idea! How cool — thank you for sharing that with me. I didn’t get nearly enough to do that, but that’s something to keep in mind for the future, definitely.

  18. 18 inadvertentgardener October 31, 2006 at 7:29 am

    Roy, thanks for the comment and for stopping by — I was definitely pleased with how the photo turned out.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!