Earwig nation

Some might say that I maligned Germany in my post about Fried Squash Blossoms. Some might say that I was, in fact, unfair in my evaluation of Germany and its abundance of earwigs.

I will even go so far as to admit that, after I posted that little tale of kitchen-sink horror, I felt bad about maligning the country that taught me the true meaning of good bread and introduced me to the Schlümpfe, long before they showed up on American TV as the Smurfs, replete with insipid theme song.

But then, Wonkette alerted me to this fact: When you search on Germany in Google Maps, the results include a picture of a giant earwig.

I don’t even feel a modicum of guilt anymore.

4 Responses to “Earwig nation”


  1. 1 Janet October 5, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    The Smurfs were originally Belgian (Belgium is famous for its comic books) and are called “Les Schtroumpfs” in French, which is just a transliteration of the German word for stocking (Strumpf), chosen probably just because it sounds so silly in French. My kids were born and raised in Quebec, and trips to the library for Les Schtroumpfs, Tintin, Asterix le Gaulois, Gaston Lagaffe, and a host of others were an important part of their childhood, and a major source of their French when they were young. North American comic book junkies just don’t know what they’re missing! And virtually all of them from Belgium.

    None of which has anything to do with gardening. ;o)

  2. 2 Al October 5, 2006 at 2:46 pm

    Never heard of an ‘earwig’. I’ll have to look that one up. Thx for your comment at my blog. Some thought provoking questions . . .

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener October 5, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    Janet, I did know that (and used to love Tintin and Asterix, too!).

    Al, oh, they’re nasty creatures….avoid them at any cost!

  4. 4 Robin October 8, 2006 at 6:42 pm

    Just wanted to thqnk you for your nice comments about my “Funky Little House” blog. I may be moving it over here to WordPress soon.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!