A few things on my mind

Pull up a chair, won’t you? I need to tell you what’s on my mind this morning.

First of all, it got up to 89 degrees in Iowa City yesterday. Eighty-nine degrees. And it’s supposed to get up there again today. Does that sound like October weather to any of you? No, it does not. Suddenly, the sandwich board Steve suggested for me doesn’t seem like quite the right accessory, does it? I pointed that out to him yesterday morning.

“Why don’t you just go on to work,” he replied. “At work, people like it when you correct them.”

In the spirit of the goofy weather, I harvested a late-season zucchini and used it as part of dinner. So there, Winter.

Second of all, as if they were totally oblivious to both the weather AND the date, a work crew hung Christmas lights in the trees of downtown Cedar Rapids as I left the office and walked to my car. Um, excuse me? It was October 2. I recognize that it might have been the best-ever October 2 weather for hanging Christmas lights (if there’s someone keeping that almanac), but still.

They had the lights on and everything. I’m still trying to figure out my menu for Thanksgiving. I still have no idea what my Halloween costume is going to be. (Although, if I get desperate, I’m putting on my blue gloves and carrying my trowel and telling people I’m Martha Stewart.) It’s way too early to be hanging Christmas lights, for God’s sake.

Third, I’m featured today over at Gardening Tips ‘n’ Ideas, a blog maintained by Stuart, who lives in Western Australia. Stuart’s been one of my favorites since I started gardening, and I’m pleased he chose to feature me as part of a series of profiles of garden bloggers. We’re helping pass the time while he takes a much-needed vacation, so please go over and see who else he interviewed for this time-off project.

And if you’ve made your way here via Stuart’s blog, welcome. Please feel free to leave tips, ideas, comments, or thoughts, but if you decorate your comment with Christmas lights, I will delete you.

‘Nuff said.

7 Responses to “A few things on my mind”


  1. 1 wes October 3, 2006 at 8:34 am

    >

    A giant tomato! j/k ….

  2. 2 wes October 3, 2006 at 8:35 am

    oops …. it was suppose to have your sentence (“I still have no idea what my Halloween costume is going to be.”) quoted above the remark about being a giant tomato.

  3. 3 Carol October 3, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    No Christmas lights here (at least that I’ve seen), but we are in the low 80’s. I keep a garden journal and last year on October 3rd it was 84 and the same in 2002. But in 2003, it only got to 56 degrees and we had a frost. I guess until the snow flies… we won’t really know that summer truly is over!

  4. 4 Al October 3, 2006 at 7:49 pm

    Isn’t that good temps for growing tomatos? lol

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener October 3, 2006 at 10:38 pm

    Wes, excellent idea!

    Carol, I think you’re right, and interesting notations about the temps where you are. I suspect this won’t last too much longer, but for now, I’m enjoying it.

    Al, yes, it is, and actually, one of the tomatoes on our plant is turning red right now!

  6. 6 Lydia October 5, 2006 at 7:01 am

    I still have herbs in my garden, and cherry tomatoes, too. So call it denial, if you will, but as long as I’m pulling fresh food from the garden, it’s definitely not Christmas!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener October 5, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    Lydia, I’ve got a few things, as well, including two teeny eggplants that I’m hoping will make it through…we’ll see. I agree with you — it’s not Christmas…not even close!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!