Housekeeping

Just in time for October, it’s a new look for The Inadvertent Gardener!

I’ve been worried about readability with the old site’s look, particularly in the sidebar, and wanted something that was a little cleaner and easier to read. I’ve experimented with a number of the options WordPress makes available, but this one seemed to work the best.

Comments? Thoughts? Protests?

19 Responses to “Housekeeping”


  1. 1 jen jen October 1, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    This is great! I usually object when a website changes, but this is very good. I had trouble reading the old one and it just wasnt”pretty” this is much better!

  2. 2 albertkline October 1, 2006 at 2:57 pm

    I used the ‘classic’ mode, which I found easier to read, the print seemed bigger. Nice look on your blog.

  3. 3 Trey October 1, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    It has a crisp look. The tomatoes seem to jump out and scream “eat me”.
    This fits perfectly with your dual role as “Inadvertent gardener” and “hostess of many recipes.” Garden/Kitchen. Fantastico!

  4. 4 cole October 1, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    Nice. I was shocked but it is not as busy. Easy to read.

    xxoo

  5. 5 Carol October 1, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    I like the changes… suddenly I’m yearning for a tomato…

  6. 6 Nancy October 1, 2006 at 8:40 pm

    It took a minute but i think I liked the old one. Guess I am an older reader and change is hard to take.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener October 1, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    Thanks for the feedback, y’all. Carol, I’ve got plenty of tomatoes on my windowsill, ripening away — you’re welcome to come over for some Caprese Salad! It won’t be long until we eat the last of the season…

    There were things I really liked about the old design, but the coding behind the template didn’t allow me to really put in bold formatting or bullet point lists, and I really felt like the sidebar, particularly the Inadvertent Chatter part, was almost becoming unreadable. I think I’ll stick with this for awhile, and then see how it goes.

    :-) Genie

  8. 8 susan harris October 1, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    HUGE improvement in readability. I and my whole age cohort thank you.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener October 1, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    Susan, thanks for the feedback! And believe me, after all day staring at a computer screen, the last thing I want to do is visit an unreadable blog. I’m glad this is a helpful update.

    :-) Genie

  10. 10 Don October 1, 2006 at 11:59 pm

    Very nice; it looks quite professional, and unique… I vote yes. Now, in your spare time, you can redo everybody else’s dowdy blog.
    Don

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener October 2, 2006 at 6:12 am

    Don…LOL…right! Spare time. Yes. I remember that…

    :-) Genie

  12. 12 albertkline October 2, 2006 at 6:40 am

    Thanks for coming by! I try and make it a point to continue visiting sites that stop by mine. Thx again and have a great week!

    Al

  13. 14 Lydia October 2, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    I love the new look. Clean, easy to read and find information. Good going!

  14. 15 Janet October 2, 2006 at 6:45 pm

    The font for the comments is very tiny. Other than that, it’s great.

  15. 16 inadvertentgardener October 2, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    Janet, you’re completely right, and unfortunately, WordPress doesn’t give me any control over that fact. However, I discovered tonight that by increasing my text size, I could increase the comment size…it’s a temporary fix (and one that has to be done by each reader), but it does work.

    Lydia, thank you for the feedback — I appreciate it!

    Al, have a great week yourself — glad you were able to stop back by!

    Jenn, thanks for the feedback.

  16. 17 wes October 2, 2006 at 11:49 pm

    Genie,

    I like the new design.

    On a related note, did you know that the tomato is technically a fruit?

  17. 18 jugnoo October 3, 2006 at 4:49 am

    Hi Genie,
    Its a new fresh look. I like it

  18. 19 inadvertentgardener October 3, 2006 at 6:31 am

    Wes, yes, I did know that, actually. I tag it liberally here, though…sometimes vegetable, sometimes fruit. I’m inconsistent like that… Thanks for stopping by and for the design feedback!

    Imran, thanks for the feedback!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!