Blame it on the rain

Rainy peppersRain is valuable. I’m aware of this fact. I appreciate that we haven’t had to actually water the garden in days.

What I do not appreciate is that the water falling from the sky has been cold, and that the clouds have hung low and dreary ever since I returned from my trip to D.C. It’s meant I haven’t been able to spend much time in the garden, which is making me cranky.

The fact that I got very little sleep, lost half my voice telling the same stories a half-dozen times over (or more), and operated in a state of mania for eight days before getting on my flight home probably also has something to do with my mood, but I’m setting that aside for now. For now, I’m blaming it on the rain. Yes, Milli and Vanilli, I said it.

“This weather would be OK if it was late in October,” said my friend Sarah tonight. “But this is still September. This is not OK.”

I’ve left the back door closed for two evenings in a row now, not even venturing out back to see how things are going. Well, that’s not true. Last night, before making dinner, I did take out the trash, but kept on the sidewalk behind the house, casting furtive glances toward the plants but not even approaching them.

Maybe they thought I was someone else.

I have a list of things I want to do out there. The canteloupe fell off the vine while I was gone, and it’s lying in its own rot in the dirt. I want to get it out of there and rip out that plant and the cucumber next to it, which is now adorned with small, shriveled, twisted cucumbers-not-to-be. I need to weed, desperately, even though I know time is running short and that’s a fairly hopeless endeavor.

There’s hope, though. I just checked Weather Underground, which is showing a smiling sun in all the squares at the top of each day’s forecast from now through Saturday. And these blessed words: “Tomorrow is forecast to be Much Warmer than today.”

7 Responses to “Blame it on the rain”


  1. 1 jugnoo September 13, 2006 at 4:49 am

    Hi, well its something strange. I am waiting for rain to come in kuwait but on the other hand rain is staying at your side.Rain is a bless for us but sometimes people hate to it. Hope you will get rid of rain in coming days soon. i cant help reading your blog.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener September 13, 2006 at 6:02 am

    Imran, you’re absolutely right…there are plenty of people who would be thrilled with the rain we’ve been getting. I need to be grateful…and less cranky!

  3. 3 Sugar Creek Farm September 13, 2006 at 8:59 am

    The sun’s reappearance this morning has finally brought my mood around. Yeah! I’ve got melons in the garden yet that still need some heat to finish up.

  4. 4 roy September 14, 2006 at 6:14 am

    Here in Brisbane Australia it’s lack of rain that makes us cranky. In a months time we go on to level five water restrictions which means watering the garden for three days a week, and then only between 7pm at night and 7am in the morning.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener September 14, 2006 at 7:02 am

    Kelli, I think you and I were sharing a mood earlier this week, for sure. Glad you’re feeling better, too.

    Roy, it’s like I said to Imran…think globally, quit whining locally… Can I tell you how jealous I am that you’re at the beginning of your season? Wishing you plenty of great veggies and flowers, regardless of water restrictions!

  6. 6 steven September 15, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    I just got in yesterday from a week in Atlanta and the garden is a mess. I have tough, woody green beans the size of presto logs and rotten cherry tomatoes everywhere. All of the marigolds have blown over and the lawn is about eight inches high since it’s rained all while I was gone. The only bright spots were the frantic welcome home from the mutts and the huge, perfect Celebrity Tomato off the volunteer next to the compost pile.


  1. 1 That is not OK « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on June 25, 2007 at 10:01 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!