Basil-scallop kebabs

Weekend Herb BloggingThis week, I’ve been on the road, taking a weeklong trip back East to visit family and friends. I started the trip at my parents’ in Pennsylvania, where we tried to see how many meals we could eat in a short amount of time.

On Saturday, my Dad finished making a batch of waffles and sat down long enough to eat them before he started preparing lunch. Now, there was a fair bit of talking that went along with that eating of the waffles, but still, there wasn’t much of a break from one meal to the next, when all was said and done.

Apparently, Mom had suggested he buy scallops, assuming that the price would be whatever the usual going rate is for the things. The seafood counter attendant mentioned to Dad that it was a good thing the store had a bank, since the price had shot up to $14.99 a pound. “You probably had to take out a second mortgage,” the attendant said.

No matter. Dad came up with the gold standard in scallop kebabs, threading them on skewers with homegrown zucchini (his squash plants have performed better than mine this year), and bell pepper from the store. (“I’d have used my own bell pepper that I grew,” Dad said. “Unfortunately, I ate the last one yesterday. And it was delicious.”) But the piece d’resistance was basil leaves, threaded whole and wrapped around the scallops. They gave everything a smoky, anisey flavor that made it all quite fabulous.

He basted the skewers with good teriyaki marinade, and served the whole thing over basmati rice mixed with homegrown chives. Whoever said you can’t go home again apparently never ate at my parents’ house.

Basil-scallop kebabsBasil-Scallop Kebabs
(Serves 3)

1 lb. sea scallops (the big ones)
1 zucchini, sliced
1 bell pepper, cut into chunks
A handful of large basil leaves
Your favorite bottled teriyaki sauce
2 c. cooked basmati rice
3 Tbsp. chopped fresh chives

Thread the skewers with the zucchini, bell pepper and scallops, threading a basil leaf on either side of each scallop. Grill over medium-high heat, basting with teriyaki sauce, for ten to fifteen minutes, or until the scallops are opaque, turning frequently. Toss the rice and chives together and serve as a base for the skewers.

This is my post for Weekend Herb Blogging, which is back at Kalyn’s Kitchen this weekend. Check it out for a creative list of recipes!

5 Responses to “Basil-scallop kebabs”


  1. 1 Tanna September 9, 2006 at 8:31 am

    What a terrific use for the basil! I really like that.
    Last year I had a basil plant called lettuce leaf growing that produced the perfect huge, huge leaves to do just that with. I was unable to find one this year.

  2. 2 Kalyn September 9, 2006 at 9:05 am

    Tanna is right about how wonderful the lettuce leaf basil is. This sounds just fantastic. I love scallops; in fact if I go out to any kind of fancy seafood restaurant, that’s what I would order. I like the idea of wrapping them in basil for a flavor boost.

  3. 3 Pookah September 11, 2006 at 3:51 pm

    Frist, it looks and sounds wonderful!
    Second, My father (age 77) has the most beautiful vegetable garden in the world to this day. Between his gardening and my Mom’s cooking and canning, I am forever thankful that I got those genes and I will second: whoever says you can’t go home again have not been to MY parents house!
    Last and not least, I have a recipe where you marinade shrimp, wrap in in a whole Thai basil leaf then in a won ton wrapper (shrimp ends hanging out) and deep fry. YUM!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener September 11, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    Tanna, thanks! I’ve heard about the lettuce leaf basil, but have never seen it. Sounds cool!

    Kalyn, it was really delicious. You’d think the basil would have burned up, but it definitely worked.

    Pookah, that recipe sounds fantastic. Any thought of posting it on your blog? Perhaps for Weekend Herb Blogging?


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 15, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!