Where it’s at: September 2

One one side of the yard, plants continue to die. We still have two eggplants growing, a couple of cucumbers hanging on for dear life, and the possibility of something resembling a melon, but the squash plants continue to bear nothing, and there are big, open expanses of dirt.

On the other side of the yard, it’s like a completely different garden. Tangled branches. Baby peppers popping out all over the place. A bevy of green tomatoes.

I had noticed that one of the grape tomato plants had become a veritable thicket, but hadn’t gotten close enough to figure out what was going on until late this week. I went out to check on the garden in the morning before work. The grass needed to be cut, so the long, dew-wet blades soaked the cuffs of my dress pants as I wandered around in the pre-dawn light.

I stopped in front of the thicket and peered in. Weird, I thought. Those green tomatoes on the grape tomato plant are completely the wrong shape. Also, they’re kind of big.

Ahem. That, my friends of the Internet, would be because they were not grape tomatoes. They were baby Big Beef tomatoes, hanging off branches that had become completely intertwined with the grape tomato plant next to it. Apparently, growth happens when the Inadvertent Gardener isn’t paying attention.

Bent tomato stemThe branch in the worst shape was bent at a 90-degree angle, its stem stressed but, at the moment, unbroken. The dilemma presented itself: I am chronically late for work, but it was clear that some emergency staking needed to happen. I thought about leaving the task for Steve, who was still asleep. I considered just waiting until after work, so I would have the slightest chance of getting there on time.

Guilt overcame me. What if the stressed stem gave up before someone attended to it? I went inside for some more of our classy support tools: the recycled plastic grocery store bag.

It took a few minutes of careful unwinding to get the viney stems apart. A few leaves fell to the ground, casualties of the operation. But by the end of my emergency work, the most troubled branches had the necessary support, and now there was much more light and air where that thicket had once been. It’s a Diseased tomato leafgood thing, too, because some of the leaves were showing signs of disease or other trouble, probably because it’s been so wet and they’ve been subject to poor airflow. Or maybe it’s just because I wasn’t giving the proper proportion of attention.

I felt good about the work, and the fact that part of the garden continues to grow so well, even through the cool, rainy weather we’ve had lately. When I went inside to blow dry my hair, I aimed my hair dryer at my pants cuffs for a minute, then decided a little dew never hurt anyone’s clothing and just left the cuffs to dry on their own.

On my way inside, though, I passed a small, bright red leaf that had fallen from a tree. It lay in the grass like a warning flag.

5 Responses to “Where it’s at: September 2”


  1. 1 jenjen September 2, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    I once had a tomato plant break, it was hanging on by a literal thread on each side with the middle of the vine cracked open. I figured it was toast. I applied a little duct tape to prevent it from falling completely apart and moved on, hoping the fates would intervene to ripen the remaining tommies on the vine.
    that thing grew like mad till frost. Didnt affect it at all. Your vine probly would have been just fine, they are very resilent. I sometimes almost strangle them with staking, but they dont care.

  2. 2 Carol September 3, 2006 at 6:00 am

    You’re making me feel quilty becuase I’ve got some tomato stems broken off, or nearly so, and I’ve not attended to them.

    By the way, one of “Google Alerts” prompted me to check out the article about you in the DesMoines Register. Very nice! Now, if this html works, here’s a link

  3. 4 Carol September 3, 2006 at 6:07 am

    I hate to comment three times in a row, but it occurred to me you wonder what my Google Alert was looking for to find your article and that not knowing might be creeping. It looks for “garden blogs”.

  4. 5 inadvertentgardener September 3, 2006 at 7:57 am

    Jenjen, that’s good to know. I’m so paranoid about my tomatoes at this point!

    Carol, you’re welcome to comment as many times in a row as you’d like. :-) I was wondering whether my Google alert (which I think pulls “novice gardening”) would pull the article, but so far, it hasn’t. Still, I’m glad you got to check out the story.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!