Those aren’t pillows

Those aren't pillowsI crouched down recently amidst our containers of herbs, eyeing a small spider that had spun a web between my lavender and my Italian parsley. While I was down there, I thought I’d take a look at the sweet basil plant. I hadn’t checked it for scale in a few days, and so far, this plant managed to escape the fate of the Genovese plant.

There was no evidence of scale, but there was an awful lot of white, grubby looking stuff down at the bottom.

This is a new one, folks. I have no idea what these are, if they are just something I should leave alone, or if I need to launch an assault on a new and improved garden nastiness. Any ideas?

2 Responses to “Those aren’t pillows”


  1. 1 Fran August 29, 2006 at 5:45 am

    Is the white stuff like polystyrene? There are various things used in potted up plants to make the soil lighter, and after rain they work their way to the top. Heres a reference for it:

    http://www.answerbag.com/q_view.php/1486

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener August 29, 2006 at 6:27 am

    Ha! The dreaded polystyrene! I’ll have to go take a closer look…quite possible that might be what it is. And funny…it would figure I would panic over a man-made potting soil additive…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!