Running for cover

On Saturday morning, we awoke to very, very dark skies.

“What time is it?” Steve asked. “It’s barely light outside.”

It was 8:30 a.m.

I was supposed to meet a friend to run later in the morning, so we got up and set about making breakfast. As Steve pulled eggs and vegetables from the refrigerator, I walked out to check on the garden, and to clip some herbs for a little breakfast garnish. I hadn’t quite decided what would work best: rosemary? Parsley? Basil?

Once outside, I started poking around in the garden, looking at what was coming up (a little bit o’ lettuce), and what needed to come out (the dead cucumber plant). I clipped a Golden Summer pepper and poked around in the grape tomatoes as thunder rumbled far off in the distance.

Then a raindrop slapped me. Then another, hard as hail. It wasn’t all that hot out, so this was no relief. This inspired panic as I realized, while I’d been mulling over the garden and messing around with the vegetables, I’d totally neglected the herb-acquiring operation.

The decision, in a split second, clarified itself. The sweet basil plant lay between me and the door. I ran over, clipped two sprigs, and made it up on the back porch just as the rain began pouring down in sheets.

“I hope this is enough,” I said, waving the basil around as I came into the house. “And I picked us some tomatoes to go with the eggs.”

Within two minutes, by the time I walked out to get the paper off the front porch, the street in front of our house had reached whitewater status. I had just narrowly missed a full-on soaking.

2 Responses to “Running for cover”


  1. 1 Alanna August 28, 2006 at 6:34 am

    Hi Genie, Here from Blogher, thanks for the link to your Mom’s hummus! I esp love the (Arabic dip) explanation! Today’s it’s so common, we might even have forgotten its roots! BTW my family lived in NE Iowa during my teen years and I was 4-generation at Iowa State. (Go ‘clones!)

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener August 28, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    Uh oh, Alanna…I’m not sure I can allow shout-outs to the Cyclones on my blog…I do live in Hawkeye territory, after all! Thanks for stopping by, and thank you for your great work on Blogher!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!