Where it’s at: August 26

At this point, showing you pictures of the whole garden is becoming an exercise in how-much-the-same-can-it-all-look-from-week-to-week. The real change is happening on a small scale: Who’s dying by increments, what’s growing ever-so-slowly, will the seeds I planted come up?

Teeny lettuceI had my concerns about the mesclun mix and the rainbow chard, particularly after Commenter Claire gently pointed out that perhaps following the directions on the back of the seed packet (Plant at a depth of 1/4”) might have been more effective than just haphazardly digging a ditch of fairly unspecified depth.

I refused to give in to despair, by any means. They sell such lovely lettuce at the grocery store, after all, and it doesn’t usually go bad for a whole. Two. Days.

But this week, small lettuce leaves began to unfurl. There’s not a lot, but there are, perhaps, seven seedlings throughout the bed that have managed to come up. And a single swiss chard seedling. Maybe there’s hope for the lettuce yet…

In other quadrants, tomatoes continue growing and setting, and if we could just get some heat, we’ll have a bumper crop of peppers to contend with. They’re shaking their leaves at the black walnut tree across the yard. “You can’t keep us down, you juglone-laden freak,” they’re saying. “We’re back!”

7 Responses to “Where it’s at: August 26”


  1. 1 Bob August 26, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    I’m a fan of tomatoes, myself, and would go to great lengths to find a good batch.

    I’d like to have a salad in my garden, if I had one. But being in the city, there’s nothing but concrete to contend with. And nothing can grow in concrete.

  2. 2 Claire Splan August 26, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    Glad to hear the mesclun is starting to appear. It’s probably not too late to get another pack of seeds to sow. It seems to take about four weeks from sowing time to eating time. I’m finding the seed packets to be cheaper than buying mesclun in the stores, particularly the stuff in the plastic bags that turns into a foul, watery mess the minute I close the refrigerator door!

  3. 3 sagitarian August 27, 2006 at 11:15 am

    hey Genie,

    nice photos. what ever happened to the rabbit? anyhow, I thought I’d return the favor, photos of my plant and cat are up on my site.

    What is ghosting? Also just curious what kind of audience you have, I mean how you track your audience and how you reach the amount of people that you do. I mean, do you have a wide audience, and what strategies over time did you use to connect to them?

    Thanks for everything, hope to hear from you soon.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 27, 2006 at 1:37 pm

    Bob, cities are tough for gardeners. Have you tried even doing something small in a window box? I believe lettuce actually would do quite well in a window box environment.

    Claire, I figured it was way to late to plant anything else. Hmm…now I’m tempted to try some more!

    Sagitarian, the rabbit continues to plague me. Yesterday I almost hit it with my shoe. Here’s the problem: I want to chase it out of the yard, but don’t want to hurt it, so it’s a fine line between aiming well and aiming painfully… As far as audience goes, I have a pretty steady audience that I wouldn’t describe as huge, but the numbers hang in about the same range all the time. My primary marketing tools are my email sig lines and going to other blogs to comment on them, actually — I try to go check out what other people have to say, and hope they’ll come see what I’m talking about in return. Also, I participate in blog events like carnivals and Weekend Herb
    Blogging
    , all of which garner me more traffic. But, at the end of the day, I’m fine with a small, loyal audience that really enjoys the blog. And I love the interaction of blogging — getting to hear from commenters is always fun!

  5. 5 Teresa Brown August 30, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    I stumbled upon your place today while searching for tomato info. I love it. Growing a garden in North Idaho, lots of bugs this year, I put my mesclun, spinach etc in long containers they do great just sprinkle a little dirt over seeds. They do have humane rabbit traps. I have a dwarf rabbit I purchased for my grand-kids. Great fertilzer, wouldn’t turn it loose in the garden though. Thanks Oh, does anyone know how I can get snow peas for fall fairly quickly, thought I had lots but no.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener August 31, 2006 at 5:44 am

    Teresa, yeah, I’d definitely recommend keeping the pet rabbit out of the garden! I bet your grandkids love it, though. They are really, really cute…I’ll admit it!

    I’ve got no scoop on snow pea sources, but maybe another reader will?

    Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you continue reading!


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 28, 2006 at 5:34 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!