Yellow gazpacho

Weekend Herb BloggingAbout a week ago, I told my friend Tammy that I’d eaten so many tomatoes that I had given myself two canker sores.

“Doesn’t that hurt?” she asked. “Why don’t you stop eating them?”

Oh, Tammy. You know me better than that. It’s life, and it must be lived when it presents itself. Canker sores fade, but so does tomato season. I’ll take a little sting with the fabulous.

But there are times when a little less acid is a good thing. Hence, I picked up some yellow tomatoes, which I find to be more merciful on my mouth, at my local farmer’s market, and used them as a base for gazpacho.

I find gazpacho to be a great canvas for experimentation. I have some key base ingredients: tomatoes, red wine vinegar, salt, garlic, cucumbers, peppers, olive oil. Beyond that, the field is open. If I have onion on hand, I use it. The pepper color is up for debate. Sometimes I throw in some spice, other times, some shredded basil is in order. I might use a red onion, or a Vidalia. If I’m feeling saucy, I’ll augment with some V-8 juice just to add a little more liquid to the game. If I want to get really traditional, I’ll whirr up some crusty bread in the food processor and throw that in, too.

Regardless of the method, the end result is always surprisingly filling. All these veggies are packed with fiber and water, and it’s a very satisfying dish.

It’s also so much more refreshing than Gatorade after a workout. One night this summer, when my guilt over not getting up to get to the gym overcame my distaste for exercising in hot, hot heat, I came home from work and went for a run. I returned, red-faced and sweaty, and when I opened the refrigerator for a bottle of water, spotted my container of gazpacho. Without further ado, I ladled myself a bowl and carried it, along with the water, out to the front porch, where I sat and rocked and ate. It was the best cool-down routine ever.

Yellow gazpachoYellow Gazpacho

1/4 c. red wine vinegar
1 clove garlic
1 Tbsp. kosher salt
Approximately 2 lbs. yellow tomatoes
2 small cucumbers, peeled and chunked
1/2 green bell pepper
1/2 red onion
3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 c. loosely packed basil leaves, sliced into ribbons

Pour the vinegar into a bowl. In a food processor, pulse the garlic and salt together until the garlic is chopped. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the tomatoes. Pulse again until the tomatoes are mostly pureed. (I like a little chunk to my gazpacho, but you can go for full-bore smoothness, if you want.) Pour the tomato-garlic mixture into the bowl with the vinegar.

Add the cucumbers, bell pepper and onion to the food processor workbowl. Puree until it’s as smooth as you want it to be. Marvel at the odd color of this combination. Add the mixture to the bowl of tomatoes and vinegar. Stir everything together.

Drizzle the olive oil over the top, add the basil, and stir again. Taste and adjust salt and pepper as needed.

This recipe is part of Weekend Herb Blogging, which is hosted by Kalyn’s Kitchen. Check out all the other great recipes in this week’s round-up!

8 Responses to “Yellow gazpacho”


  1. 1 Kalyn August 13, 2006 at 10:45 am

    Yes, yes, yes! This looks just wonderful. I better get making some gazpacho myself!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener August 13, 2006 at 10:54 am

    Thanks, Kalyn! It’s quite delicious. And such a great way to use up all those tomatoes in your gorgeous tomato photo!

  3. 3 Coffeepot August 14, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    I just made up two batches yesterday. A red batch and a yellow.

    I then took a biscuit cutter and placed it in a bowl and poured the yellow inside the cutter and the red outside the cutter..whala..pulled that sucker out and had bicolor gazpacho.

    It sure is fun playing with food.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 15, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    Coffeepot, what a cool idea — and it sounds so pretty! I’ll have to keep that in reserve…

    And I agree — playing with food is so much more fun than just eating it.


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 18, 2006 at 7:03 am
  2. 2 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 30, 2006 at 3:02 pm
  3. 3 Iowa City cowboy spaghetti « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on October 21, 2006 at 1:11 pm
  4. 4 A mouthful of trouble « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 8, 2007 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!