Flimsy cages

There are sturdy stakes, and then there are flimsy cages. As I said yesterday morning, there was a storm careening into town just as I managed to get my post loaded up, and it was a doozy. Winds up to 70 mph. Mad lightning. Crazed thunder.

Falling downAs I hit Publish, I heard plastic items blowing past the window on the sidewalk outside. Rain poured down, granting me another reprieve from morning watering.

Because it was still raining pretty hard when I walked out the door at 6 a.m., I didn’t get out back to check the garden and see how the eggplant stake held up through yesterday’s stormy blast. First thing after work, out I went, hoping maybe my remedy did the trick.

No worries—the baby eggplant remains intact and the toppled plant remains tall and straight, thanks to my propping action. But the flimsy cage supporting the cantaloupe plant had released itself on one side, its feet hanging in the air, the rest of the cage and plant teetering at about a 45-degree angle over the squash plant behind it.

An aside: as far as I’m concerned, it could have happily destroyed that squash plant, which is barely producing any blossoms, much less any sign of squash. It’s big, yet barren.

I tilted the cage back up to its rightful angle and made sure everything was set right. Like I’ve said before, I don’t actually expect any edible cantaloupe to develop off this plant, but right now, we have one that’s probably the size of a tennis ball, and, like all our vegetables and fruits, I want it to have a chance at glory.

Yes, I said glory. Glory that precedes a quick and furious eating thereof.

1 Response to “Flimsy cages”


  1. 1 steven August 12, 2006 at 7:48 am

    I want this cantaloupe to survive. I’ve never had any success growing melons.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!