Oh, me of little faith

Tomatoes on August 7There have been plenty of moments throughout this experiment-I-call-gardening when I have thought the end was nigh. I was the one striding around in the back yard, wearing the sandwich board announcing the end of the world, assuming the worst, shaking my head at possibility.

I can’t grow stuff, I told myself. Steve and I aren’t going to be able to do this. We’re not going to produce viable vegetables and fruit off the vine. Or stalk. Or bush.

But last night, I went out in the back yard, and spent a few minutes gaping at the bounty. And I do mean gaping. Some might call me a mouth breather, but others might call me amazed.

I retreated to the kitchen for a colander, and returned to the garden for a picking session. I picked nothing but tomatoes for a long series of minutes, one hand clutching the colander while the other twisted and pulled one tomato at a time off the plants.

When I finished, I carried them up to the house, my mouth still hanging open. I grabbed the camera, knowing that I’d better get some evidence before I started turning these guys into dinner.

Tomato bounty

My upstairs neighbor, Tom, wandered by my back porch with his dog, Harry, while I was in the process of photographing the colander of tomatoes.
“Hi, Genie,” he said. Then he cocked his head just slightly. “Are you photographing food?”

“Oh, yes,” I said. “Absolutely.”

“Hmm,” he said. “Well, good night, Genie.” He wandered around the corner, still shaking his head ever so subtly.

I decided not to tell him that, these days, I photograph everything. First of all, I decided that, under the ripening circumstances, it was time to update the blog header again.

But even more importantly, if I don’t photograph rampantly, I might not remember this later, and I don’t ever want to forget this summer, these tomatoes, this shift in my relationship with the Earth.

8 Responses to “Oh, me of little faith”


  1. 1 steven August 8, 2006 at 6:52 am

    Nice tomatoes, I’m so glad they survived the juglone onslaught.

    As for the neighbor, I spend as much time taking pictures in the garden as I do weeding so you’re not crazy. In fact, you can feel smug. YOU have tomatoes, he has nothing! Neener neener neener!

  2. 2 kalyn August 8, 2006 at 7:59 am

    Oh yes. Very nice looking tomatoes and great blog header!

  3. 3 Trey August 8, 2006 at 10:12 am

    I am glad that your first gardening experience has given you so much joy, despite the difficulties.

  4. 4 Janet August 8, 2006 at 10:34 am

    “I don’t ever want to forget this summer, these tomatoes, this shift in my relationship with the Earth.”

    Pure poetry.

  5. 5 Jeanne August 8, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    They are beautiful! Enjoy!

  6. 6 Dori August 8, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    Yeah the first ripe tomato! It’s amazing what you have done for a good ripe tomato! Oh ye of grater faith. :)

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 8, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks, everyone! I’m pretty excited about the tomato possibilities, and there’s even more growing. It’s getting exciting out there…


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 12, 2006 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!