Where it’s at: August 5

I decided to let the garden go without a drink of water this morning, partially because I was feeling lazy, and partially because all the plants are looking hale and hearty, and it just seemed like a daily watering was overkill.

OK, OK, it’s mostly that I felt lazy this morning.

I have already been outside to peer at plants a few times today, though, including once to go snag some grape tomatoes and basil for a breakfast sandwich. Here’s where things stood the first time I went outside:

Where it's at on August 5

On the other side of the yard, I’m seeing some serious tomato ripening action, as well as some tomato blossoms that are, in fact, beginning to turn into new, baby tomatoes. I would have done a little dance this morning, but that lazy situation got in the way.

August 5 containers

Radish seedlingsAfter planting my seeds on Monday, I was extremely surprised yesterday to notice a row of very similar looking sprouts poking up through the ground. The weeds have been relentless lately, and I probably would have mistaken these for unwanted garden visitors, had I not checked the Internet for a picture. Sure enough, the white icicle radishes are already making their way toward my dinner table.

There’s no question that I planted too many seeds, and these will require thinning. I think. When I walked out this morning, a big, fat rabbit had plopped himself right in the middle of the garden, and I had to actually chase him out of the yard, since he was in no hurry to leave. (My laziness has an escape clause: it evaporates when I need to chase an errant bunny out of the vegetables.)

Maybe I won’t have to thin much of anything. I couldn’t tell what the rabbit had chosen off the menu this morning, but I can imagine tender radish sprouts would sound practically gourmet to a bunny right about now.

1 Response to “Where it’s at: August 5”


  1. 1 steven August 5, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    I see our friends the leeks are still hanging around. The rabbits have become a little bolder lately here, but there’s nothing for them to really nibble on. I guess they just like hanging out until the dogs chase them off?

    I had to yank the last of the zukes today because of the squash borers, luckily I froze most of my crop this year instead of giving it away.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!