Rain, rain, beautiful rain

Last night, I came home after work and spent approximately three minutes in the house—just long enough to change into workout gear—before heading back out the door to my Pilates session. Sometimes a girl just has to get her Reformer on.

After my session, I drove home, and actually contemplated not going out to the garden. It was nearly 8 p.m. For all the weatherman lies about the whole “heat emergency” being “over,” ovenlike winds still swept up the street outside my house. Apparently, no one told the actual “weather” about the “end of emergency.” I just wanted a cold beer, a refreshing salad, and an episode of Veronica Mars: Season 1 on the DVD player.

But that garden, well, it has some sort of siren call. I’d barely begun assembling my salad when I began wondering what garden goodies I could incorporate. Grape tomatoes, I thought. Of course.

I wandered outside and began selecting the reddest of the tomatoes, collecting them in my left palm as I moved down the row of pots. Suddenly, something slapped me in the right cheek.

“Stupid bug,” I said, not even looking around to see what wasp or beetle or spider had just whacked me.

Ponder that, for a moment, those of you who have known me to shriek at the sight of bugs. I thought a bug hit me in the face, and didn’t even care. Behold the power of gardening.

But then, something else slapped me in the forehead. And the back of my neck under my ponytail. And my forearm.

I straightened, my palm brimming with tomatoes, and turned my face up, catching the full force of what I had realized were rain drops. Out there, in the back yard, with not even George to keep me company, I began to laugh out loud. The rain answered by accelerating, dotting my shirt with fat, wet circles and further dampening my upturned face.

In seconds, the rain turned into a downpour, and still I stood there, laughing more quietly now, letting it cool me down. Above me, clouds scooted across the sky, and, nearly as soon as it had started, the rain began to abate. In a few minutes, it was gone, leaving damp sidewalks behind.

I carried my tomatoes inside and finished making my salad. This wasn’t the big rain that was due in on the approaching cold front. And sure, I still worried about those eggplants surviving the juglone dripline. But after days of hot weather, the rain was a welcome few minutes of pure refreshment.

8 Responses to “Rain, rain, beautiful rain”


  1. 1 Fran August 3, 2006 at 6:22 am

    The same happened to me yesterday…only a continent away. These gardens have turned us into weather-obsessed people!

  2. 2 steven August 3, 2006 at 7:11 am

    We’re expecting rain today, I was out at 6:00AM picking beans and cherry tomatoes before I start canning all my goodies from the farm stand.

  3. 3 kalyn August 3, 2006 at 7:26 am

    We had an absolute downpour of rain here on Tuesday. All I could think (since Utah is a desert and I just got $114 water bill) was free water!

  4. 4 Matt August 3, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Funny stuff. I was adding compost to the garden last night when I started to get pummeled by the rain drops. For some reason I didn’t think it would last so I just waited on the porch for it to be over. Short it was.

    Have you started to think about what you will plant for the coming fall, if anything?

  5. 5 Alexa August 3, 2006 at 12:23 pm

    A beautiful post. You’ve elevated a personal experience and grounded a universal/spiritual need. …How I ache for a tiny plot of land.

  6. 6 Judith August 3, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Your post made me long for a bit of rain. Even though your rainfall was brief, I can imagine how good it felt… the clean scent of the air afterward.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 3, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    Fran, I’m glad this isn’t just a U.S.-centric attitude. Weather…Affecting Everyone. :-)

    Steven, I hope the canning effort goes well — can’t wait to hear about it on your blog.

    Kalyn, yes…free water is definitely a great thing! Glad you got a downpour — sounds like it was much needed.

    Matt, it really was short, wasn’t it? And we didn’t get much of anything over night — more of a spit than a storm. Sigh. I have thought about Fall planting…stay tuned for that scoop tomorrow.

    Alexa, thank you so much for your sweet comment!

    Judith, it was miraculous, really. I still can’t believe that I didn’t recognize what it was from the start. It’s not like we’re in drought conditions, but it was just so alien in the heat we’d been experiencing. So lovely…


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 28, 2006 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!