Storm front coming

Hot hot heatI’ve been complaining about the heat. A lot. It’s been very hot here, and the only air conditioning I have access to at home is the creaky window unit in our bedroom, which we only run at night. That makes the difference between sleeping and not sleeping, but it’s certainly not keeping me from sweating through shirt after shirt and taking two showers a day.

The heat started to break last night. Wednesday is Trash Day in our neighborhood, and I took one last load of recycling and a final bag of trash out to the curb around 9 p.m. The heat emergency had expired at 7 p.m., and the air felt lighter and much cooler than it had for days. Thin clouds striped the sky and there was no question change was coming.

Number two in the eggplant lineIn theory, I would welcome the rain that cold fronts bring. It saves me from my daily rush to water the garden before leaving for the gym or work in the morning, and I know we need it. But I looked at that baby eggplant last night and thought, Buddy, hang tough, ‘cause we’re in for a day of juglone dripping off the tree above you. Are you up for it?

And that’s not even mentioning the youthful and additional blossoms on that plant and the one next to it. If the plants can fend off the poison, there’s potential for several eggplants before the season’s over. But as I’ve learned, until the vegetable is picked, it’s not mine.

The weather forecast calls for the storms on the leading edge of the cold front to start today during the evening rush hour, and for rain and storms to continue through Thursday. I hope I have an eggplant on the other side.

5 Responses to “Storm front coming”


  1. 1 steven August 2, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    Hope your eggplant makes it, maybe you should hold an umbrella over it through the storm?

  2. 2 Judith August 2, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    There is hope. I didn’t think my eggplants were going to blossom at all, and this morning, TA DA! a blossom.

    Steven says umbrella for yours for the storm. There’s something to that… I’ve temporarily put a five-gallon bucket over plants to protect them.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener August 2, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    Steven, ha…umbrella. Overnight. Right.

    But Judith, you may have something there. I ought to look around and see if I have something that would work. Maybe even a big trash can or something.

    Hey, I am going to wash the eggplant before we eat it, after all…

  4. 4 Carol August 2, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    I like what you wrote about until a vegetable is picked, it isn’t yours. How true! I have little bitty eggplants forming, and can’t wait. Eggplant is my favorite vegetable. Fried! Yum!

  5. 5 David August 3, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    One of the big water jugs with the bottom cut off would do the trick, maybe? If they’re not that tall (as mine aren’t) then the same trick can act as a greenhouse for them, and with the top open they have a bit of an escape from too much heat.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!