Blurry beetle

Blurry beetleWhere do beetles hang out when they are not eating my cucumbers?

Apparently, in the squash flowers.

I was poking around in the garden Thursday night after work, and noticed this little guy trying to camouflage itself down inside a blossom. I wouldn’t think it would be their usual fare, but perhaps this little guy just wanted a place to relax for awhile. After all, it’s not easy being…yellow.

The photo quality? Well, the light was getting low. And this little pest thought less of me than Britney Spears thinks of the paparazzi. Within seconds of the approach of my lens, he scrambled up the petal and took a header into the dirt below, then flew away.

I’m guessing there were cucumber blossoms to gnaw on, anyway.

9 Responses to “Blurry beetle”


  1. 1 steven July 30, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Ugh, cucumber beetles, I hate the little %$#@&*&.

  2. 2 ~~Melissa July 30, 2006 at 10:08 am

    You might have the secret: if enough of us stalk them with cameras, maybe they’ll go away. Or sue us. :-)

  3. 3 Lydia July 31, 2006 at 4:59 am

    I have cucumber beetles too, but no cucumbers. They, and the Japanese beetles that are just starting to emerge, don’t seem to have very discriminating palates. They’ll eat anything……

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 31, 2006 at 5:25 am

    Steven, my difficulty is that I hate what they do, but like how they look! I think they’re cool-looking, and love that some are striped and some are polka-dotted.

    Melissa, maybe I could teach workshops on managing pests through photography? People have made money on stranger things…

    Lydia, I have yet to see a Japanese beetle, but I’m not sure whether they hang out in Iowa or not (what am I saying…they probably hang out everywhere…). I’ve had plenty of other pests to deal with, though!

  5. 5 Grommie July 31, 2006 at 10:01 am

    I read somewhere that squash beetles, cucumber beetles (whatever you like to call them) will transmit powdery mildew from one plant to another as they travel about. Picturesque or not, the buggers are not welcome in my garden.

  6. 6 colesedwards July 31, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    My MIL sprays her stuff with beetles with watered down Joy Dish Soap. It worked for her in Cape Cod, MA?

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener July 31, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Grommie, interesting…I didn’t know that, and now that I’ve seen official, on-the-web photos of what that looks like, I’m wondering whether they’re possibly transmitting it around my garden, too. Hmm.

    Cole, that’s an interesting theory…I might try it out, particularly on the one cucumber plant that’s getting hammered. Who knows…it might work in Iowa, too!

  8. 8 colesedwards August 1, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    I asked her again and she also sort of scrubs the stalks of the heavier plants cause the beetles they leave a trail that attracts more of them…like ants sort of? She has also used watered down Simple Green on stuff. It is non-toxic too and can be washed off. Good luck.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Cole, great tips — I’ll definitely try some of those. Excellent! Thanks to your MIL, and to you for passing on the info.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!