Where it’s at: July 29

Hi. I’m Genie, and I still have not picked the leeks.

Now that I have that admission out of the way, here’s today’s garden status shot:

July 29 status

And here’s where the container garden stands:

July 29 containers

July 29 cantaloupeLast week’s staking-caging-training experiment seems to have taken pretty well. The cantaloupe and newer cucumber plants are winding their way up the cages, enjoying the ride up toward the sun. This photo is of the cantaloupe plant, which I expect will probably serve more as a decorative object than a fruit-bearer. Maybe it will prove me wrong, but even the Master Gardener who works in my office says that most home gardeners are lucky to get a single cantaloupe off their plants, and that’s when they actually plant the seedling early enough.

But who knows. One little ball has already popped out, helping me confirm that the plant really is a cantaloupe, rather than a cucumber, and while it has a long way to go before it’s big enough to pick, I have hope.

I’ve been eating lots of its brethren, purchased at farm stands, in the hope that maybe the power of intention will work on my behalf. If I eat them, this one will grow. Or something like that.

It is Iowa, after all.

Baby cantaloupe

3 Responses to “Where it’s at: July 29”


  1. 1 steven July 29, 2006 at 11:22 am

    I think you’re safe if you take your time with the leeks. I’ve never successfully grown a melon since it’s not hot enough around here, I hope yours does well.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 29, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    Steven, good to know the leeks will be fine. Honestly, I’ve thought to pull them a number of times, and it always seems like so much more effort than it’s worth at that particular time…oh well.

    And yes, the cantaloupe. It will be another of those educational things, I think. I’m not expecting much from it, but it’s cool to watch these things grow!

  3. 3 steven July 29, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    There is this however: what are you going to do with the leeks?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!