The password is…sturdy

Sturdy stakeOn Sunday afternoon, I stopped at a local Ace Hardware to pick up some additional staking supplies. I had visions of buying raw materials to create some sort of frame up which the two squash plants and cantaloupe plant and (ahem) cucumber plant could climb. A veritable backyard architect: that’s how I saw myself.

But once in the store, the stacks of ready-made frames and the wide variety of stake products sang their siren’s song. With luck, I could stake all the peppers and take care of getting the four newest plants up off the ground in just an hour or so, if only I bought into the road-more-traveled philosophy.

Along with frames for the various viney fruits and vegetables, I needed additional stakes for the peppers. We had a few more bamboo stakes at home, but they are much taller than the peppers really require. I looked at what Ace had to offer, and settled on four Sturdy Stakes, priced at $.99 apiece.

Sturdy Stakes. Of course.

Because, really, who wants Weakling Stakes? Or Maybe-We’ll-Last-The-Season Stakes? Or We-Will-Bend-Like-Willows Stakes?

It’s all about marketing, really.

12 Responses to “The password is…sturdy”


  1. 1 steven July 27, 2006 at 8:20 am

    And so much better than we-will-transfer-indelible-green-dye-to-your-hands green bamboo stakes. Can you tell which ones I bought?

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 27, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    Steven, we have some of those same stakes. Luckily, so far, I haven’t seen any ink transfer, but yeah, these won’t run the risk of causing anything like that. The only place indelible green ink is good is on money.

  3. 3 colesedwards July 28, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    Will peppers grow in a pot? They are one of my sons favorite veggies…along with cauliflower(?). We have lots of rabbits and I think pots of things might be better…more manangable? A good book to point me in the way of containers for veggies?

    Love, Cole
    ps. You are so clever and funny. Weakling stakes…ha.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 28, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    Coles, I actually have most of my peppers in pots at this point — we moved them during Operation Transplant.

    Thank you for the sweet comments!

    :-) Genie

  5. 5 colesedwards July 29, 2006 at 2:10 pm

    Good to know…my son wants to make pickels next year as they are among his favorite foods. I might try a BIG platic pot semi-in the ground for the cukes. Our bunnies are very brave and persisitent. My hubby just started our compost pile/thingy. We are looking into native ground cover instead of grass…too toxic and too much of a pain to take care of it you want it to look nice. They had a nice display at one of our local city farmers markets today promoting all that native plant/composting/going green thing.

    Yum…leeks…on of my BFF’s makes this dish with leeks, cream and chicken over egg noodles or rice. It is really simply, inhanced by some fresh sage. Yum. Leeks.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener July 30, 2006 at 12:24 am

    Cole, can you snag your BFF’s recipe? Because…um…hello? Delicious-sounding? I’d love to try it.

    I hope the composting thing works for you guys. I keep thinking I ought to try it, but am still not quite there…next year, maybe? We’ll see how it goes…

    Yum, by the way. If your son wants to make pickles, I say encourage that habit and turn it into a learning experience about all that’s involved. He’ll just appreciate his favorite food all the more!

  7. 7 Margaret White September 22, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    Please could you help me I was wondering how you can bend Bamboo Stakes with breaking them. I want to bend it in half to try and make a frame, for my tomatoes which i’m growing in a big pot instead of the ground. Can you help please

  8. 8 Sue September 23, 2006 at 6:02 am

    I love these stakes. At the end of the year just hose them off and put away until spring. When the remnants of Ernesto blew through the other week my stake in a pot on my deck stood up to the winds. Unfortunately the climbing plant lost all it’s leaves. I am looking for the tomato cages that my neighbor has for growing potted tomatoes on his deck so next year I can do the same.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener September 24, 2006 at 9:18 am

    Margaret, unfortunately I don’t have any good tips for you. We just stuck two stakes into our pots, one in each side, and went from there. You can tie them up and train them up each stake.

    Sue, that’s my clean-up plan with those things — so easy! Good luck finding the climbing cages. I’ve also seen some gorgeous ones that people have built out of wood, but that’s a little above my experience grade…


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 10, 2006 at 5:37 am
  2. 2 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 11, 2006 at 7:06 am
  3. 3 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 20, 2006 at 8:32 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!