Where it’s at: July 22

I had some unexpected time to spend in the garden today, which meant I got all the weeding done I’d been meaning to do, and noticed some new developments. But before we get to that, let’s start with the weekly photos. Here’s the standard view:

July 22 status

Things don’t seem to be getting substantially taller at this point, but the zucchini plant continues to become more and more jungly, and the cucumber is holding its own.Here’s where things stand from the side:

July 22 from the side

And here’s the container garden:

July 22 containers

The container garden continues to amaze me. Every day, there are more grape tomatoes to pick off the plants, and I find myself eating them, more often than not, out of hand, after a quick rinse in the kitchen sink. I’m probably about a step from just rinsing them off with the hose when I water and eating them then.Bee

Today, when I got close enough to pick random grassy weeds out of the pots, I noticed something exciting: a small bee flitting from flower to flower. There was another one, too, a shiny green bee like nothing I’ve ever seen before, but my pictures didn’t come out as I’d hoped. It was moving so fast that the camera focused somewhere behind it. Even as it ducked in and out of the few cherry tomato blossoms on the plant, its wings beat so fast its entire body shook.

Even I know that pollination is a good sign. First, it means the container garden may be roaring back, post-transplant. But also, it gives me hope that maybe the batch of tomatoes already on the plant might not be it for the year. Maybe we’ll get some continued harvest as August arrives.

I’ve been worried, in particular, that although the Big Beef Siamese twins seem to be holding their own, that I might not see any additional fruit off them. But, there was other exciting news from there. A few brand new suckers, moist and fresh, were growing at the junctures of some of the branches. I picked them off, particularly pleased to see this pair of plants showing signs of life.

2 Responses to “Where it’s at: July 22”


  1. 1 steven July 22, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    Everything looks nice and healthy, is that a leek I see up front?

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 22, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    Steven, it’s not only a leek, it’s five leeks that I’ve been too chicken to pull. Maybe tomorrow…if not, then definitely sometime this week.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!