Leaning tower of pepper

Leaning pepperOn Monday night, a fabulous thunderstorm ripped through Iowa City between 6:30 and 7:30 p.m. It was fabulous because it was quick. It was fabulous because it didn’t spawn any tornadoes. And most of all, it was fabulous because it dropped the temperature about 20 degrees in 20 minutes.

I have no air conditioning, people. These are the little joys that make summer more bearable.

However, the storm was not good for the one remaining pepper plant that didn’t get transplanted in the black walnut exodus. When I went outside on Tuesday morning, it was leaning over dangerously and the roots were exposed on one side.

Bare roots of pepperTime for some quick, surgical action. There’s a live pepper on this plant, people. Dr. Genie is in.

I staked the plant and used some of our ubiquitous and highly fashionable plastic bag pieces to tie it up, then relocated some dirt from elsewhere in the garden. Results? A stable pepper plant with hope of living until the pepper is large enough to eat.

Besides, if this one has survived the juglone onslaught so far, it deserves a little TLC. It definitely has impressed me.

4 Responses to “Leaning tower of pepper”


  1. 1 steven July 21, 2006 at 8:09 am

    I always give my peppers some sort of support, hope yours makes it!

  2. 2 Carol July 21, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    Good luck with your peppers. Yes, it has to be saved!

  3. 3 ~~Melissa July 22, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    I love it when things can be saved like that. We just had a storm that lay all my lilies and delphiniums across the ground. It looked like they’d all fainted when I checked on the garden. Fortunately I was able to help them all back up.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 22, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    Steven, on my list for tomorrow is to go pick up some more stakes. I have a little project in mind…

    Carol, I wholeheartedly agree. Love my peppers, even if I haven’t eaten any yet!

    Melissa, fainting flowers…trauma! Glad you were able to save them.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!