Know thy own garden

Zuke leaves by nightOn Friday night, we had friends over for a little garden party, and after dark, I leaned back in my chair and shot a glance at the garden.

“The zucchini plant!” I exclaimed. “It’s standing straight up! Straight up! Look at those four leaves!”

Everyone nodded indulgently and continued drinking their beer and talking about other things. I fumbled for my camera.

“Are you going to take a picture?” Steve asked. “For the blog?”

“Of course I am,” I said. “People should see this! I’ve never looked at the garden at night—this must be what happens to the zucchini leaves after dark!”

I clicked away, sending flashes like lightning into the garden.

Zuke leaves by dayAnd then, on Saturday, while putting together my weekly Where’s It At post, I looked back at some of the old pictures.

With some chagrin, I must say that yes, indeed, those leaves also stand up during the day. I just forgot.

7 Responses to “Know thy own garden”


  1. 1 steven July 17, 2006 at 7:57 am

    Oh no! You’re anthropomophizing the garden.. soon you’ll be carrying pictures of it in your wallet and showing it to strangers. LOL

  2. 2 Carol July 17, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    Funny. Guess you thought you had discovered “the secret life of plants after dark”. What do they do out there all night long? I hear that’s when they g-r-o-w! I’m still laughing.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener July 18, 2006 at 12:20 am

    Steven, shut up. You totally do that already. You DEVELOPED the idea of carrying pictures of your garden in your wallet and you KNOW IT.

    Carol, the plants are trying to just hang out and do something INTERESTING. :-) I know, I know…something interesting like GROWING. I’m still chuckling, too. I was feeling a little silly when I went out the next day and saw the real situation…

  4. 4 steven July 18, 2006 at 8:05 am

    It is the perfect way to fend off Grannies on airplanes. “Would you like to see my grandchildren?”

    “Sure would you like to see my compost pile?”

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener July 18, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Steven, that’s the perfect way to ensure an interrupted movie and nap! You should market that…you could sell pictures of your compost pile to non-gardeners for just that use.

  6. 6 JMom July 21, 2006 at 4:10 pm

    LOL! I won’t say anything…. I have a whole blog devoted to my backyard :)

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener July 22, 2006 at 5:48 pm

    JMom, a back yard is a wonderful thing. Keep on blogging, and thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!