Where it’s at: July 15

This week’s garden evolution has brought with it increased pepper production, the rapid ripening of grape tomatoes, and, unfortunately, a casualty.

Here’s where things stand today from the usual end-of-garden view:

July 15 status

Here’s the requisite side shot, which includes proof of the growth happening in the yellow squash and cantaloupe sector:

July 15 from the side

And the container garden is better-than holding its own. Look closely to see the flash of red from the grape tomatoes! Behold the recovering Big Beef plant!

July 15 containers

Dying eggplantI did, however, pull out one of the three eggplants. Not only was the plant struggling from the beginning of the season, as of this morning, it had developed some unsightly leaf death, and its sole attempt at a blossom had given up the ghost.

On Thursday, during a work lunch, I told my co-worker (and Master Gardener), Jackie, that I’m still having a hard time shaking off any plant problems. “I’m taking it all a little too personally,” I said.

She shrugged a little. “With plants, you’re guaranteed a 20 percent failure rate. Sometimes worse.”

Transplanted rosemaryIt’s all about letting it go, I guess. But having fresh vegetables to harvest certainly takes some of the sting out of it.

In place of the eggplant, I relieved the rosemary of its rootboundedness. It was the best transplant yet, if only because working with the plant released some of those essential oils and left my hands smelling of rosemary. Not only will the plant be happier where it is, but I believe it’s perennial enough to let it winter in the garden. I don’t know how well rosemary survives Iowa winters, but I’ll give it a try and see how it goes.

9 Responses to “Where it’s at: July 15”


  1. 1 Carol July 15, 2006 at 8:51 pm

    Good luck with the rosemary. I suspect it will not survive an Iowa winter outside. I know it will not live through an Indiana winter. It might be in that 20% that your gardening friend told you about.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 16, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Carol, that’s definitely true. We’ll see how it goes, and it’s good to know that this doesn’t work in Indiana. I wonder if I could wrap it in some kind of garden fabric or something to keep it warm through the coldest part of the year. Isn’t rosemary a perennial?

  3. 3 melissa July 17, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    I’m not 100% about this, but I think rosemary is a “tender” perennial.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 18, 2006 at 12:18 am

    “Tender,” huh, Melissa? I assume that translates as “You’re crazy if you think it’ll live through winter?”

  5. 5 Rhonda July 18, 2006 at 9:21 am

    Rosemary grows outdoors in zones 6-10, I believe. I just peaked at the hardiness zone map for Iowa and you don’t have have much of a prayer!

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener July 18, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    Rhonda, oh well…it is what it is. I’ll just see how long it lasts, and then rip it out. Or, if I’m feeling crafty, I’ll repot it and take it in for the winter and see how it does in the kitchen. That might be the better option.

  7. 7 Scott and Michelle July 21, 2006 at 7:11 pm

    My wife and I just bought our first house (Columbus, OH), and we’re trying the “gardening” thing. We have 3 tomato plants and 1 cucumber plant, all in large pots. It’s amazing how attached to these plants we’ve become. Their status can lift or lower our entire day.

    Anyway, I stumbled onto your site when I googled “cucumbers + wilted” and found your tale to be inspiring. Our ‘little guy’ is not looking too good right now…but I’m now holding out hope that he will revive, as did yours.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener July 22, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    Scott, I hope your cucumber returns to life — they’re pretty interesting plants and fun to watch! I’m glad I’m not the only one who plans her moods around her plants…it’s amazing how much they take out of the gardener…

    Thanks for visiting, and I hope you’ll keep coming back!


  1. 1 The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on July 17, 2006 at 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!