Where it’s at: July 8

Thanks to our grand transplant experiment, you’ll get multiple weekly status photos.

Ah, the glory of expansion. I’m starting to feel like a Garden Tycoon.

Here’s the plot:

Where it's at on July 8

And from the plot from the side:

July 8 from the side

Here’s the World O’Containers:

July 8 containers

Right now, the jury’s still out on the Big Beef tomato plant twins. They have days when their branches perk up and look like they might make it, but most of this week, the plant has more resembled a wet noodle tree than anything else. There are still a couple of green tomatoes on there, and I’m hoping for a comeback.

Cherry tomatoes ripeningEarlier in the week, as I peered at one of the cherry tomato plants, Steve remarked, with slight disgust, that the two remaining cherry tomato plants had featured the same tomatoes, green and hard, for weeks, with no discernible progress toward ripening. Then, just yesterday, we noticed that one of the cherry tomatoes was changing color. The change was so subtle that, to be honest, I thought the tomato had rotted.

Steve gave it a little squeeze. “No, I think it’s actually ripening,” he said.

Today, not only was that tomato clearly red, but one of its siblings had started to progress toward redness as well. Could it be? Could we possibly salvage a ripe tomato out of this? Stay tuned.

In the meantime, and in other photo-related news, please note the new banner at the top of the page. I want to send a huge shout-out to Steve, who spent the whole middle of the day (while I went for a lovely swim and had lunch with my friend Alison) building me a new background image for my blog header. Not only did he set it up for me, but he put together a file that I’ll be able to alter myself as the seasons progress and my mood changes, and put together a fabulous set of instructions for me. While I have access to Photoshop, I’m not very good at it, so those instructions are key.

He’s a keeper, y’all. And talented, to boot.

2 Responses to “Where it’s at: July 8”


  1. 2 steven July 10, 2006 at 9:16 am

    I’ve been following the container epic and I hope everything makes it.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!