Gargamel’s bringing the lox

Editor’s Note: I realize bagels have nothing to do with gardening, but indulge me on this one. I’ve never seen thematic bagels before.

Fourth of July BagelsYesterday, I stopped in the Bruegger’s Bagels across the street from my office with my boss. They had a fresh batch of Red, White and Blue Bagels out for sale. My boss grimaced.

“I have to get those for breakfast tomorrow,” I said. “They’re absolutely disgusting.”

“It looks like Papa Smurf got a little too close to the bagel mixer,” Steve said, after I sliced them open this morning.

But hey…toasted and with lox and cream cheese? It didn’t matter what color they were.

And while we’re off the subject of gardening, there’s a strange social networking experiment happening over at Linkie Winkie. I’m still learning more about it, but it’s interesting, nonetheless. It’s sort of like figuring out what variety of plant a particular volunteer will be when it grows up.

4 Responses to “Gargamel’s bringing the lox”


  1. 1 Sasha July 4, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    Wow- those are colorful. I wonder how they did that. Steve’s comment is perfect.

  2. 2 steven July 4, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Those bagels are a crime against Smurfmanity

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener July 4, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    They’re totally criminal, aren’t they? I suppose they must have green bagels for St. Patrick’s Day — I’ve probably just missed them — but these struck me as particularly bizarre.


  1. 1 Earwig nation « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on October 5, 2006 at 6:18 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!