Time to call the farm team

As Steve and I stared at the garden on Saturday, it was clear defensive maneuvers needed to be made.

“We could just tear out everything that’s dying,” I said. I thought of the impending thunderstorms hanging around the forecast. “If we get any more rain, what’s struggling is just going to die anyway.”

“I don’t know,” Steve said. “The cherry tomato plants that are left look pretty strong.”

We knew it, though. The other tomato plants had looked strong one day, wilted and limp the next.

“A lot of commenters have said they’re having success with putting tomato plants in containers,” I said. “A couple of people said they just put plants directly in bags of potting soil, no container required. A couple of slits in the bottom for drainage, and the plants are fine.”

Steve mulled this over. I mulled it over. We looked up at the black walnut tree and down at the garden.

I told him about a conversation I’d had on Friday at work with Jackie, our department’s administrative assistant. She’s a Master Gardener, and winced when I told her about the tree. Jackie had suggested we do the research and try to find a few juglone-tolerant plants, but encouraged me to act quickly, since most garden shops were about to give up on vegetable seedlings for the season. “She said we might still be able to get some seedlings in,” I said. “What if we just gave up on the tomatoes and tried to put in one of those plants that can withstand the juglone assault?”

He nodded. “We could do that.”

“Let’s go check with that garden shop over on Gilbert,” I said. “They always have good stuff. Their staff seems to know what they’re doing.”

We went inside to grab our wallets and keys. “I cannot believe how bummed I am about these tomatoes,” I said. “I’m incredibly disappointed.”

Steve gave me a hug. “I understand,” he said. “You thought you could bat .400 in your rookie year.”

Maybe so, but at this point in the garden game, the plot required a return to the farm team to finish out the season. Thanks to the black walnut tree, we were rapidly dropping to the garden league’s cellar.

5 Responses to “Time to call the farm team”


  1. 1 steven July 3, 2006 at 7:45 am

    maybe the landlord would let you build some raised beds that just sat on the lawn? They’re easy to remove and the bare spot could be overseeded easily.

  2. 2 Matt July 3, 2006 at 8:42 am

    Have you thought about building a quick little “roof” over the top? Sort of like a hoop house? Bang some rebar into the ground, throw some PVC down over the rebar and then zip tie (or better, clamps) a clear plastic sheet to the PVC. Then when it rains the tainted water would run down the roof and off to the sides. You’ll have to water the plants yourself but it might save them.

    Google search “building a hoophouse” and see what you think.

    Hope it gets better.
    Matt

  3. 3 steven July 3, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    By the way, when I mentioned raised beds, I was suggesting they be put somewhere away from the dripline of the Dripping Tree of Death.

  4. 4 Lizzie July 3, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    What about grow-bags? We use them every year for tomatoes and we always get a fantastic crop. (We never manage to use them all, so our neighbours get boxes of them and by the autumn our freezer’s full of peeled tomatoes too.)

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener July 3, 2006 at 5:10 pm

    Steven — LOL…yeah, we definitely wouldn’t put the raised beds under the Tree of Death — no worries. Actually, there wasn’t time for building this year, but I’m thinking about it for next year. I definitely don’t want this hassle two years in a row!

    Matt — I suggested some kind of tarp solution (as did one of our friends), but we opted for something else in place of that. Stay tuned!

    Lizzie — I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a grow-bag. What are they?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!