I’m wilting… I’m wilting…

I'm wilting...I'm wilting...This morning, one of our three cherry tomato plants looked wilty on one side. Tonight, the whole top began to droop in a sad and troubling manner.

There are still plenty of developing tomatoes down below, but the top of the plant looks like it’s been rode hard and put away wet.

Which, in fact, may be the problem.

I read that Kalyn was planning to cut back on watering her tomatoes, and now I’m wondering whether all this rain is starting to have a detrimental effect on the plants. “We need a day or two of good, hard sun,” Steve said.

The weather forecast is showing thunderstorms for the next two days. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a little sun between the storm clouds.

2 Responses to “I’m wilting… I’m wilting…”


  1. 1 jackie rogers June 14, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    We have had heavt rain for 2 weeks.The sun has come out and down went the wilted tomatoes. It is about 7:00 in the evening now is there anything I can do to not lose all of them?
    Jackie

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 15, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Jackie, in my case, the wilting was happening because there was juglone dripping off the black walnut tree above the plants, but that was something I didn’t discover until later. Is it possible that there is something else, not related to the rain, going on with the plants?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!