State of the pepper

Bad pepperEarlier in the season, the yellow pepper plants were struggling. Our resident bean leaf beetle spent his or her days making mincemeat out of the leaves, and I began to despair that the plant would survive.

Then we relocated those bean leaf beetle eggs—definitely a happy accident, since the baby beetles would have wreaked havoc along with their mama. Maybe that served as a sign to the bugs that they ought to stay away, because since then, the only sign of unwanted bugs has been the occasional leaf perforation. We haven’t seen anything quite like the weird yellow leaves and holes the beetle caused a few weeks ago.

Good pepperIn the past week, the pepper plant that took the biggest hit from the beetle has grown resiliently, and has all kinds of little flowers and buds on it. Steve thinks we’re due for a spectacular pepper crop, and I hope so. I love eating raw pepper strips, and like them even better dipped in hummus.

3 Responses to “State of the pepper”


  1. 1 anthony June 12, 2006 at 12:34 pm

    Wow, your peppers are doing great (well except for the beetles anyway). I finally got my peppers in the ground yesterday. They’re still tiny because I started them very late but I put them out anyway. I look forward to more State of the Pepper updates.

  2. 2 steven June 12, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    My peppers are still teeny things, I need some warmer weather.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener June 12, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    Anthony and Steven, they’ve definitely recovered from their prior trauma, but I still think they’re going to get bigger. I’m wondering, actually, how big they’re supposed to get. Right now they’re about 18 inches high, but carrying lots of buds that look like they’re due to pop out as peppers. We’ll see.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    :-) Genie


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!